El Bolson


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Río Negro » El Bolsón
April 19th 2007
Published: April 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

El BolsonEl BolsonEl Bolson

The centre of town
So after a week of bum massages and sitting around the hostel in Bariloche hanging out in the warmth, the weather had changed by now and the wind was up and rain was coming more often I decided it was time to leave. Mind you my first stop was only 2 hours down the road but 2 hours is 2 hours. The town is El Bolson and known for being the organic capital of Argentina and having some of the best markets in the country, right up my alley way. I arrived on market day and was lucky enough to get some sunshine in the afternoon to allow me to take a leisurely stroll around and check it out. This town is set in one of the most beautiful places I have seen and again mountains with snow dominated the horizon and autumned coloured trees filled in the blanks. The markets were a little light on that day as the weather had been crap but still enough to have a good look and eat some great empanadas with real blue cheese. That night I spent on a rocking chair in front of an open fire reading my book before my
El BolsonEl BolsonEl Bolson

Market day at El Bolson
room mates arrived back from town with locally brewed beer and locally made chocolate...nice way to end a good day. My view from my bed was pretty damned good, the mountain right there and no need to move, but the next day the sun was out and by now I was slowly realising that when the sun is out you must take advantage as the weather changes really fast. So off I go to do a walk to some waterfalls and then back into town, all this planned with the idea that I have a bus ticket at 5pm that night. The taxi ride out to the start seems to go forever and I am thinking that this might not be such a good idea. He drops me off and points me in the direction whilst saying something else in spanish which I catch some of. The waterfalls are nice but pretty shite and then I trying to find my path that will lead me back to town and my bus. This takes the best part of an hour and in this time I am realising that I am a long way from anywhere and there is absolutely no one
El BolsonEl BolsonEl Bolson

View from out of town on my berry filled walk
around and damn I wish I could read more spanish. Anyway I finally find the path and I´m on my way only to be stopped every coupla of metres by loads of blackberry bushes full of berries just calling out to eaten. Over the next coupla hours I eat so many of those berries that my fingers are dyed purple....yum yum. The walk takes me through some beautiful bush and in the distance the ever present mountains are there. I made it to the lookouts and was again treated to some wonderful views. With plenty of time spare I head back to town and take the road down the mountain that leads me through the villages where the Argentines live, great to see the houses and were the locals live. As I hit town a taxi pulls up and its the same taxi driver that took me to the start of the walk and I think he is glad to see me alive as he did look a little concerned earlier. He picks me up and drives me into to town just because he is heading that way...oh and I made it to my bus!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

El BolsonEl Bolson
El Bolson

Coming down the hill through the village where the locals live
El BolsonEl Bolson
El Bolson

Walking down the hill through the village where the locals live
El BolsonEl Bolson
El Bolson

Friendly llama on the road from El Bolson down south


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb