Adventures in the backwoods


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Río Negro » El Bolsón
February 13th 2007
Published: February 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

DodgyDodgyDodgy

Hard to tell from the photo, but this is by far the sketchiest bridge I´ve crossed. Wobbly, snapped planks, and great fun!
I´d been in El Bolson for a few days enjoying the warm sun and friendly vibes, but was ready to move on and discover some of the great local camping I´d read about. Not having any idea where to start, I decided to pack up and head for the lake, when I met a group of Argentines headed to a place called Cajon de Azul. They were doing an over-nighter at this refugio, which turned out to be the first of three along a 25km trail that ends at the Chilean boarder. Kindly, I was invited to join them, but they were leaving in 5 minutes and I had to dump weight to do the hike, so I passed on their offer. Also, they were only staying for a single night and I was looking for something a little bit more adventurous, which is exactly what I got when I met Kiara. I don´t even remember how we met... she just appeared out of nowhere. I mentioned I had a tent, and the next minute we had plans for a three day camping trip to the Chilean boarder.




Ooh, sorry folks. This story will be continued later,
Pristine waters...Pristine waters...Pristine waters...

Yes, it´s true folks. You can drink the water directly from the river without any gastrointestinal ailments. No filter, no boiling, no tablets... sure as hell aint Mexico.
I just realized this place is charging me way too much for internet access. I´ll continue this in El Calafate in about...4 days. (today is Monday the 26th and I am in El Chalten...in Argentina again. Leaving tomorrow for a three day hike)


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Los LaguitosLos Laguitos
Los Laguitos

That reflection there is Chile on a steamy morning.
Best cat in the worldBest cat in the world
Best cat in the world

This cat at Los Lagitos was awesome...


6th March 2007

!Travel
Cheers to an amazing trecker!

Tot: 0.303s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.2086s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb