Made it to Mendoza


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Mendoza » Mendoza
December 7th 2009
Published: December 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Most of us said our goodbyes on leaving the evening meal, but the spanish guys were flying to iguazu, so I ended up saying goodbye in the airport. My plane was late, as expected, but as soon as we climbed above the city the weather was fantastic..
As we flew further north I could see Torres del Paine quite clearly in the distance. The flight stopped in Calafate, and was late taking off; I was supposed to have 40 minutes transfer time, so by now it was looking unlikely that i'd make the next flight. We had a change of crew, and when we took off the pilot didn't bother turning right - he just flew straight up the valley, then 5 minutes later they said "if you look out of the left window you'll see the perito moreno glacier" - guess which side of the plane I was on? That's right, the left!! Omg, it was amazing; we circled right over the top, about 5000 ft above, before turning for Buenos Aires, and to cap it, I could see Mt Fitzroy and Cerro Torre too!
We arrived in to BA just in time to see my plane taxiing to the runway 😞 no matter, tho, as there was a later flight, and I was put straight on to that. 2 hours flying, and it was dark and I was in a strange town. I went to the first hostel that caught my eye, but they were full, as were the next 2. Eventually found another, a couple of kilometres away, and crashed out.
Yesterday was a lot of walking around, looking at cars from the early seventies, many in very good condition, then I met up with some peeps at the hostel and out for dinner. We woke up this morning to rain (it's only supposed to rain here 5 times a year), but it stopped, we caught a bus to Maipu, hired some v old skool bikes and headed to the vinyards. A full glass at each, and a cheeky wee shot of absinthe made things interesting! As I write this, I haven't decided where i'm heading next - maybe Chile again or Cordoba, we'll see what happens at the bus station!



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0919s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb