Mendoza


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Mendoza » Mendoza
November 24th 2009
Published: November 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I went to Mendoza this past weekend and had a great time. I left Santiago around 22:00, the bus ride to the Argentine border was about 3 hours, a little more, but customs took 3 hours. I got into Mendoza at 7 in the morning, and of-course nothing was open.
My friend Mandy came with me, so we decided to walk around the city a little and see what there was to do. We ended up finding a cafe and had some food to eat. After the food we went to our hostel, called Pirka, which was great, the people who worked there were just amazing and set up stuff for us to do, such as a 5 hour long wine tour, by bike.
Mendoza is known for its melbek wine, which is very sweet and very cheap here. The wine tastings were usually no more than 15 argentine pesos, and the bikes were only 25 pesos, (3.60 pesos = 1 us$). Also on the wine tour was a olive oil factory that had a tour and tasting. The food was plentiful and very good.
Once we got back to the hostel we decided to go to the store and buy some food, and make dinner ourselves, to save money... for drinking and another activity I will describe in more detail later. But anyway, the hostel had a kitchen so we made this stir-fry thing, and it was gone by the next day. After dinner we decided to sit in the courtyard of the hostel and drink beer. Until a friend of Mandy showed up. Then when went down the road to a bar that was cheap, 1us$ of a liter of beer. And eventually went back to the hostel to go to bed.
My second day in Mendoza Mandy and I went paragliding, thats where you have a parachute thing that catches the wind form the side of a mountain, so that you can glide in the air for a while. I was told I made it up to 2.300 meters of altitude. The view was great. About 20 min into it the guide person asked if i wanted to do a free fall, and I said yes, so we did to of them. its basically where you're able to let the are out of the parachute and fall for a little while. Very fun, and it was only 70us$
After that we went back to the hostel and then to the center plaza where there was a concert and little shops of hand made goods. I was at this until like 8 or so, when we then went back to the hostel, which had a party that night.
On sunday we checked out of the hostel at 10 and left most of our stuff there while we walked around the city. I took a nap in the central plaza, because I hadn't slept the night before. Our buss left at 22:00 hours form Mendoza, and it was a little bit faster then the one I'd taken first.
But that was about it for the weekend, that I feel like writing about.
Don't know where I'll be next, but I'll write about it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0831s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb