Mendoza! I think I like this place...


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Mendoza » Mendoza
February 3rd 2009
Published: February 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I arrived here yesterday morning on the overnight bus, getting in at around 8am. The FULL cama really was more comfortable! I actually found myself feeling excited as I settled in for the long trip. There were only 2 seats on one side of the aisle and one seat on the other side - which was mine - so I had no one around me and it really felt like the lap of luxury. The first few hours of the journey were breathtaking (photos to come soon!) as we wound our way up out fo the lake district and back towards the city of Neuquen. I managed to sleep quite well with the reclining seats. I think I might actually grow fond of these busrides... they´re comfortable, they serve you hot food, and there´s beautiful scenery outside - that is, if you can tear your eyes away from the stream of movies constantly being played on the TV screens!

I felt like a bit more of a seasoned traveller getting into Mendoza, so I strapped on my backpack and did the 20 minute walk into town to find my hostel. Then, I checked out two Spanish language schools and decided on a school called Intercultural - which was recommended to me by the school in Bariloche.

I think I really love this city! Everything I read about it is true: it has a relaxed feel; the streets are wide and are lined with tall trees. There are beautiful plazas (mini-parks) everywhere, with trees and fountains. My hostel is just steps away from a large plaza called Plaza Internacional, which has spectacular fountains spouting during the evenings, when families come out to relax and buskers play live music. There is also a theatre in the Plaza and I hope to go see a play this week. Very curious to find out about the South American style of acting!

Siesta time here is a serious business: everything, but everything is closed from 1 - 5 pm. It is even hard to go into a bank machine as often they are closed for cleaning at that time! Today I discovered that eating gelato (or "helado" as they call it here) is just as good, if not better, than taking a siesta.

I will try to do as many of the activities organized by my school as possible, including a trip to some hot springs tomorrow (not sure if the "hot" aspect is necessary!) True, it is hot here, but I find the temperature to be pleasant (which most of you will not find surprising! There are capillaries in my toes that I believe are opening for the first time!) It´s not humid, so the heat is really quite bearable as long as you stay out of the sun during the hottest hours of the afternoon.

Well, that´s all for now. I will write a bit later and hopefully will upload photos to my last few entries.

Chau!





Advertisement



11th February 2009

hey
I have enjoyed reading about your trip so far! looks like you are having lots of fun. btw I loved the "tango" pic!

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0734s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb