Here I am in Mendoza safe and sound, minus one wallet, plus a little knowledge knowledge


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Mendoza » Mendoza
July 10th 2007
Published: August 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

So the couple days have been a little rough. I feel fairly healthy, but I have been fighting for it. Yesterday I have my wallet stolen by a couple of trickster asshole bitches. I was walking to the bus station (with way to many things, which I think drew attention) decided to grab a cab and as I was putting my stuff in the cab a couple showed me that I had shit or puke or something on my stuff. The way it looked I thought it had fallen out of a building or something, so in the confusion of them helping me clean off (or so I thought) the fucking bastard managed to get my wallet out of my back pocket through buttons and all (of course they would say there was shit on my pants and I was in a hurry), what pisses me off the most was I knew better and I had actually felt for my wallet to make sure it was there, which in turn I think gave it away and that's when it got snatched was right after I had verified that it had not been taken.

So I had a nice pissed off bus ride, which was 4 hours longer than scheduled due to snow. When arriving in Mendoza I had to figure out where my hostel was because the directions where in my wallet (of course), but luckily I remembered the name of the hostel and the street name and the nice man in information filled in the rest. The crazy thing was that while I was walking to my hostel (as I had no cash for a cab) another couple of Argentine bastards tried to do the same trick only the one walked by and spit on me and then the other came up trying to say that his friend was not very nice and that he would help me (yeah right).

So today I am a little more street smart, I plan on lightening my load some more so I don't look like such an easy target, and luckily I didn't lose much (about 50 dollar, two credit cards which promptly where cancelled and should be fine as they actually check ID's here, my drivers license (expires before I return anyways), insurance card, and miscellaneous worthless stuff. Moreover not bad if it prevents future losses as I have a different mentality of trust now, but I can only hope and pray. I never thought this trip would be easy, but I knew I would learn a lot, which I believe is happening. Luckily I have one credit card left, so I could eat and all of that goodness here in Mendoza, basically I walked a bit of the town, and have been visiting with some other travel. The best part is that it has been all in Spanish and I finally have gotten away from the English hole that is the Portal wish I love dearly, but if I can just practice my Spanish for a week, do a day of boarding in the freshness, a wine tour or something I would say the Mendoza trip is a success. So with that wish me luck and if you are travel and someone try’s to help wipe crap off your bag and you don't know them, watch out.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb