Green Hats and no Pants


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Entre Ríos » Gualeguaychú
February 2nd 2007
Published: February 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Me and JakeMe and JakeMe and Jake

In our Irish celebration suits. He had a green shirt, I didn't!
The sun is setting outside, the receptionists have joined with the regulars in sing alongs and drinks, and I am faced with the sad task of packing up all my things into my pack once again and pulling myself together for a late night ride to the Airport, because tomorrow morning I take-off for Ecuador.
I have relaxed all this week and hung out with my friends here at the hostel, watching films, going for walks, singing along to the guitar, and making mistaken laden conversation in spanish. I have really felt comfortable here at the hostel clan with familiar faces and everybody knows my name. It sounds like Cheers and in truth it really is.
We said goodbye to one off the longest serving receptionists last week, who has flown off to Ireland now to be with her "Luvly Jubbly". For the occasion people were requested to wear an Irish outfit. An english bloke (Jake) and I went the extra mile and used parsley to really enhance the quality and comedy of our costumes. The night rolled on until 4am for me, at which time I felt ready to retire, with the prospect of a weekends excursion commencing tomorrow.
The
Group photoGroup photoGroup photo

Just a bnch of us at the reception. My open hand coinceded with an impression of Chopper saying 'BANG'
next afternoon I awoke to prepere to depart to the carnaval in Gualguaychu. An event that was to become the unrivalled highlight for this week.
Gualiguaychu (The spelling will never be the same twice in this blog) is a place where for a few weeks of every year thousands of nearly naked people hedonistically parade infront of grandstands of adoring nd often intoxicated onlookers. Carnaval music repeats and repeats its self, as the dancers shake and pose, and cling to the few clothes that keep them from full exposure. It really was a party outside of the realm of any I have ever seen in my own homeland. Night rolled into morning, and as we walked aimlessly out of the crowds and towards the river bank beaches the sun began to glow a pale strobe of blue across the sky.
At the river bank my three tavelling companions and I lay back under the morning stars and dozed until the full light of the morning sun awoke us. We shared mate at the end of an old jetty, and then gathered ourselves to head off to the local river beach.
A golden sand covered beach with sculpted bodies scattered across
Pog Mo ThoinPog Mo ThoinPog Mo Thoin

Kiss me Bottom in Gaylic I believe. Maybe it was not a good idea to give the irish the responsibility of decorating me
it gave way to a silty brown river. Behind our tree shaded bathing spot grassy areas and volleyball courts neighboured a large cafe and changing sheds. The morning passed and we continued to lay there in the sand with our weary heads trying to catch the sleep we missed last night.
Eventually the heat of the day convinced me to swim in the murky cool water.
After a refreshing dip it was time to play voleyball.
My team won and won and won, until the evening approached, and we walked back down a dirt road toward the village an ice-cream and a sleepy three hour bus ride home.

I am now in a yellow walled hostel in Quito with all my things, at the heart of my journey alone to ask those many questions of myself.


Here is a thought from my room here in Quito.

I leave the light on, but not to see.
The darkness asks too many questions of me.

A soft glow warms thoughts, but the coldness of dark, even on the warmest night,
finds a lonely heart.

With my eyes open or closed there is nothing to see, but
JuanJuanJuan

Very well done by Juan!
atleast with my eyes closed I imagine someone is here next to me.

Sometimes all we need is someone with whome to silently share a thought, and assurance there is others in the dark.

But then I remember where I am, where I am going, and smile.
A heart can always be warmed by a thought, so I lay here with the lights off!


Wish me luck, and drop a line sometime. I am running low on props!
Andrew


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Me and AyelenMe and Ayelen
Me and Ayelen

Ayelen is one of the staff here at hostel clan, and she is a fanatical New Zealand and Lord of the Rings fan. Tonight she sports a plastic Pounamu!
Goodbye NelaGoodbye Nela
Goodbye Nela

Nela just appreciating some fresh herbs.
Shaking Tail FeathersShaking Tail Feathers
Shaking Tail Feathers

I'm sure there is a song that goes like that!
Those little green outfitsThose little green outfits
Those little green outfits

They are rather revealing. Don't you think
No small featNo small feat
No small feat

These floats were like 15m tall and packed with dancers
Swanlike DancersSwanlike Dancers
Swanlike Dancers

Ooohhhhh... Very beautiful
Big GuyBig Guy
Big Guy

Big Axe
The RunwayThe Runway
The Runway

The party stretches for hundreds of meters along this road
Me and AyMe and Ay
Me and Ay

amongst the crowd
Tomas and ITomas and I
Tomas and I

Outside the fences to the carnaval
Riverside SunriseRiverside Sunrise
Riverside Sunrise

We only saw this because we had nowhere to sleep
Tom Me JohannaTom Me Johanna
Tom Me Johanna

Not a bad spot. But I forgot my glasses
And to finish offAnd to finish off
And to finish off

We spent the day at the beach. This was at 10:30 before all the sane sleeping people arrived


6th February 2007

saluations
Good luck and well done - you should be able to make a little of the first and if you keep lying in the sun then the second will come naturally.
7th February 2007

why did you upload that pic???
Is the ugliest pic you have from me! can you change it??? pleeeeeeease! we were both tired, I'll send you more and better pics of us, anyway thanks a lot for including me in your travel blog it makes me feel your real adopted sister... I'm very proud of having a bro like you...

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb