Flying high in La Cumbre!


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Córdoba » La Cumbre
November 28th 2005
Published: November 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I finally managed to drag myself away from Cordoba since all the late nights were seriously catching up on me - when I say late nights, they were really early mornings. Bright sunshine and about 22 degrees when you come out of a club in the morning is a bit of a shock to the system but I didn´t seem to have any problem staying awake during the night, despite having to dance to the musical extremes of either electronica or salsa with nothing more to my taste inbetween! It was the trying to get some sleep during the heat of the day that was the hardest thing!
I arrived in La Cumbre on Saturday night and went paragliding on Sunday morning. Now I know what it feels like to be a condor and float on the thermals! Strangely enough I wasn´t at all nervous beforehand and the experience wasn´t scary - it was relaxed more than anything. It´s like sitting back and floating with a beautiful view beneath you. My tandem instructor did a few fun turns and spirals too so that I got a bit more of a rush and it was great! Even the landing was easy! Unfortunately
Fancy dress party Fancy dress party Fancy dress party

A group of us at the hostel in Cordoba before going to a fancy dress party at a student house nearby. The party was on the rooftop! Unfortunately I look like a moose in this photo because I´m trying to help the girl who couldn´t work the camera and I haven´t got my fancy dress mask on either! Never mind.
don´t have any photos of me up in the air because we arrived there first thing and were the first to fly. I was going to take photos of other people up in the air afterwards but noone else got to go up because the wind got too strong and they had to cancel it, so I was really lucky to have that window of perfect conditions early on.
I was meant to leave here early this morning but I missed my bus when I slept through my alarm! I blame the mosquito that was buzzing very loudly during the night, who forced me to pull the sheet over my head, resulting in my inability to hear the alarm! Felt a lot better when I found him in my shower this morning and squashed him with the guide book. Missing the bus gave me time to visit the ´Cristo Redentor´today though, which is a copy of the statue in Rio de Janeiro, and to have an amaaaaazing steak lunch. Was absolutely scrummy but am hardly able to move right now...


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Rainbow around sunRainbow around sun
Rainbow around sun

Have any of you ever seen or heard of this before? Just after jumping, I looked up at the sky and there was a 360 degree rainbow around the sun! Very difficult to take a photo but hopefully this gives an idea of it. Amazing.


28th November 2005

Abduction
Maybe Aliens were trying to steal you (ref, 360 rainbow). Can you check email, need some details from you. xx
28th November 2005

Hello Moosey, do try not to get abducted by aliens. would be most awkward to explain to the landlord. Many thanks.
29th November 2005

Jumping Jessie!
Paragliding - cool! So I can take you for a skydive next year? Jo x
29th November 2005

Despite a slight fear of heights (remember the Pont Du Normandie) I'm definitely envious and we're both trying to picture you soaring over the Argentinian landscape! AND you've seen a Brook Inspector (sorry, don't speak German)! That's the first time we've even seen a picture of one. Keep the great news coming. LOL XXXXX
2nd December 2005

stunned
maybe your vision had been happened after the strange party with fancy dresses? Did you smoke anything alluginogenic?! Not sure this is the right term!!! I know that over there you should find peyote a sort of cactus with funny effect on mind. Have you already tasted it ? If not could you try and refer your feeling, please? this is just to make the blog more real...so i will feel as i were with you in south america instead of the boring Hospital...ciao

Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 13; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb