One more day in Cordoba


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Córdoba » Jesús María
October 30th 2007
Published: October 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This little light of mineThis little light of mineThis little light of mine

is powered by electricity conveyed by telephone poles with giant jesus on them. Now that is some holy light.
Tomorrow is my last day in Cordoba, and then the next morning I´ll be moving on. Actually, I feel like I´m ready to be done with this place now... but one more day of relaxation will be good for me.

Yesterday I didn´t do much, and on mondays, most things are closed, so there wasn´t much to do. Mostly, I switched hostels. The first I was in was recommended Lonely Planet, but these tend to be a little expensive, plus I think they raise their prices after they get mention in "the backpackers bible". I found an ad for a different one "El refugio" and I like it much better. A problem with some of the backpacking scene is that a lot of kids come down here to not do anything but party and get laid. Its actually really sad that there is so much going on, and people are just getting drunk and hitting on foreign people. Oh well. Its just that the first place was definitly that kind of place. I would go down stairs and there were like 10 guys playing pool and they would all look at me... waiting... I don´t know for me to flirt
What I like about youWhat I like about youWhat I like about you

is your abnormally large feet and hands. This is in interesting and actually quite personal peice of public sculpture on display in Jesus Maria.
with them or something. It was so middle school. So I switched hostels, and this one is much better, and cheaper. Right away I sat down and had nce conversations with normal people... abou movies. And the main room is in the kitchen, so people cook and talk and eat and watch TV together. And I like it.

I finished the Idiot yesterday! The book was much better than I thought it would be. I actually look forward to reading other Dystovesky (sp?). I look forward to it very much... he was a heart felt and deep person.

One of the reasons I´m staying an extra day is that I found an art supply store. I´m going there tomorrow and buying a pad of paper. Not that I´m dropping one book, I can pick up a pad of paper in wieght (I have to be very careful about these things). I hope it isn´t to much or I won´t buy it. Also I think I´ll go to the art museum. This province is famous for producing dinosour fossils, and I hope to see some good specimens! You just can´t go wrong with dinosaurs.

Today I went to
Leaf cutter antsLeaf cutter antsLeaf cutter ants

Why would I spend the time uploading another pciture of a church, when I can give you leaf cutter ants?
Jesus Maria, another suburb. This suburb has two jesuit mission ruins in it, and that´s really the only reason to go. I learned a lot about the Jesuits. The pope accepted them as a faction of the church in response to Martin Luther and the protestant movement. The Jesuits were really ... well mobilized. They formed in like 1540, and had missions in the new world only a decade or so later (my reading of the spanish is not perfect). Later, they would be rejected by both the spanish and the vacitcan in the 1700´s, only to be reinstated later. I thought that was funny, being accepted and rejected in the church over time. The town was not as picturesque as Alta Garcia... but I was also thinking that maybe I´m just bored with the suburbs and that I´m ready to move onto something new... I think my destination in the next few days will prove very exciting!

Sorry, otherwise, nothing to special to report today. In the last few days I´ve just been taking it easy and relaxing.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Kick ém where it countsKick ém where it counts
Kick ém where it counts

These spurs in one of the missions caught my attention. Actually, both missions had wonderful collections of centry old stuff. These especially amazed me because they were so large.. about four inches across. I would not like to be kicked with those. I hope horse skin is thick.
well, the mission picture well, the mission picture
well, the mission picture

you´ve been waiting for. I´ll give you one. But no more!


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb