Puerto Madryn


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Chubut » Puerto Madryn
January 23rd 2010
Published: January 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hola!

I am really trying to keep up with these blogs! I am currently in La Serena in Chile, so fingers crossed I will soon be on top of it all!

Just a little note to anyone who was offended by my taking the piss out of hardcore trekking gear, GET A LIFE! I got a note from some random person who had read my blog, saying ´cotton kills´ and telling me to go and get some synthetic trousers. Ok, that is fine for some people, but I am quite happy walking in my cotton combat trousers thank you very much, and I am not going to change that! You have got to chill out.

Anyway...Puerto Madryn was reached after a long old bus ride from El Calafate via Rio Gallegos. And I loved Puerto Madryn. Unfortunately, I had missed the whale-watching season, but did a trip to Peninsula Valdes to see sea lions, penguins and elephant seals, and it was fantastic! (Photos to come...!). The weather was great, so we spent the day driving around the peninsula to see all the different wildlife, and managed to spot armadillos and Patagonian hares on the way too. And I made the comment, "Penguins are very bird-like aren´t they?" momentarily forgetting that, yes, penguins are indeed birds! The second day I had there, I was pretty much a beach bum! Puerto Madryn is quite a laid-back little place next to the sea, with a lovely beach, but absolutely freezing sea! So I had a day of chilling out before heading up to Buenos Aires to catch my flight to Santiago de Chile.

The one thing about Puerto Madryn is that it is full of beautiful Argentinian women! I arrived to my hostel, sweaty from the walk from the bus station and bedraggled from a long bus journey, to be faced with a dorm I was sharing with 5 stunning girls from Buenos Aires, all with amazing figures, strutting around in bikins! And the thing is, they were all really nice so I couldn´t hate them!

So I headed up to BA where I had a weekend there before catching my flight to Chile. And had a weekend of retail therapy at the markets there. Dangerous for both budget and backpack! I thought it would be a great idea to buy a lovely maxi dress at San Telmo market. And now my backpack is just about closing from the couple of tops I have bought along the way, a couple of dresses and the rest of my crap!

But it´s ok, I am planning to palm off my backpack to Graham when we meet up in Costa Rica!

Ciao guys, next blog will be from Chile! xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb