43 degrees south


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Chubut » Puerto Madryn
November 18th 2009
Published: November 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

The hostel had insisted that I get to the airport v early so I got almost no sleep for a 7:20 flight... it was great to BA from the air, but then I quickly passed out, only to be woken for food... grr!!
Flew in to Trelew, over Puerto Madryn and my first view was of cobalt seas and semi desert scrub, with next to no hills. The road to PM confirmed this - it only had about 4 bends in it! Also no trees. Talking to our guide he said they get the same amount of rain as Essex, but the wind.. Wow, i'd heard about it, but assumed they meant the south, near the mountains, I could barely hold my camera still!
Yesterday we went to Peninsular Valdes, saw elephant seals, but no orcas 😞 then we went to see the southern right whale. Wow again! The wind had dropped, clear blue skies, and whales jumping; does it get any better? Out for dinner with the german chap and belgian couple who were the others on the tour, but an early night for me as I am still knackered from the intrepid trip!
Today dawned clear again, and we
the skythe skythe sky

couldn't hold the camera still because of the wind!
drove south to Rawson to catch another boat. Instantly we saw sea lions playing in the water, and by the time we were 5 minutes offshore the dolphins had come to find us. They are black and white, and probably only 4 foot long, but so fast; utter swines to get a decent photo of! I managed, I think, and was very pleased with myself! This afternoon we went to see the magellanic (?) Penguins, cute, but a little flat after the previous 2 excursions. We finished with a trip to a welsh village, and the natural history museum; they have some biiig bones around here! Went for a walk this evening to see if I could find the falkland islands memorial, but the light was fading east and I was too hungry! I start my trip to the proper south tomorrow, but spend half my time in Buenos Aires! First destination is El Calafate.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb