Into Patagonia


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Chubut » Puerto Madryn
February 2nd 2006
Published: February 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi there to all at home and on the road. Since the last entry Diana and I spent New Year on a small island south of Rio called Isle Grande. Were only going to spend a week there but it was so lovely that ended up 18 night there and then discovered our 60 day visas were due to expire so we hot footed it to Sao Paulo via a quaint seaside town called Parati were there was great music and the best Thai resturant ever. Spent 4 days in Sao Paulo ( the third largest city in the world, 26mill people).then a 6hr bus ride to Curatiba where we had a 4hr train ride thru native Atlantic forest. The last of the kind left in Brasil or Sth America for that matter. The Falls at Iguacu were the next stop and they made the Victoria falls in Africa look like a puddle of water with a dribbling shower. Honestly, Ive never experienced such a awesome site in my life. From the Brasil side it was very Panoramic. 2.7klm of dozens of falls and on the Argentine side was the full force of the water felt as I was right up on top of them, and then I had a boat ride under 3 of the falls. Naturally got absolutly soaked. Yes Gaye, I also was mad enough to think a raincoat would stop me from getting wet...... I walked around for an hour or more in wet undies. I had taken off the outer clothing when I put the coat on but..... Diana and I parted company for a month or so at the falls and I hitched a ride to Buenes Aires with 2 Argentine guys from the posada I was staying in . They took me to their mothers summer house for the night and the family made a big fuss over the fact I was from the home of the All Blacks.....They had a BBQ at night and invited all the neighbours. I met up with Caroyln my friend from USA in BA and after 4 days of site seeing and a quick day trip into Uraguay we bussed 18hrs south to here at Peurto Madryn in Patagonia. Forgot to mention that at Iguacu, Diana and I hopped over into Paraguay for a chinese meal one night. another country to list........Went looking for whales here but too early in the season so off tonight to Calafates and then onto Glacier Moreno on Sat. Argenitna has much diferent feel to it than Brasil where it was party party and happy happy all the time, but also had a dark side with all the crime. Here it seems more safer and the people more European. The scenry here is absolutly stunning. In the north very green and now a desert and saw my firt alpacas. Well must be off to the bus station. We nearly missed the last one from BA with only 2 minutes to spare. Dont want to do that again. So love till next time amd I promise to try and down load these pics. Love Kay

Advertisement



3rd February 2006

hello adventually!
Hi honey, I sent you a comment on an old journel today so go back to read that. Just to say hi and I hope you got the addresses of the boys on your other email. Im working hard but life is good. take care and enjoy, your brilliant. lots of love jess xxx

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb