Settling in


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Chubut » Esquel
April 3rd 2007
Published: April 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

TrevelinTrevelinTrevelin

Kyla from Alaska drinking mate in the plaza
So being in a new house is great. Heated floors make life so much easier to get out of bed in the morning! And I now get driven to school as the tempuratures are starting to drop!

So, I needed to buy a winter/ski type jacket right? and poor little Hannah from northern queensland wouldn´t have a clue what to do for so she enlisted the help of one native friend who speaks english and an exchange student that was a ski instructor back home. Well I must say they just had the best time shopping with me. they thought i was just freaking hillarious. I would be like, this one looks big and warm, and they´d say to me, yeh it´s people like you that we can tell are tourists becuase they are wrapped up like penguins in big oversized coats and such. Anyway they helped me pick out a very nice one which I´m assured despite not being big and puffy will be nice and warm, and it has a detachable shell from the fleece too! Really getting into the cold weather spirit now!

I´m starting to get a routine in my life now! I´ve started
TrevelinTrevelinTrevelin

Jeevon from Washington in the plaza
going to the pool with my mum twice a week because she has lessons but I just swim up and down. I must say it is a bit crowded as there is only one lane for public swimming and it´s a 25m pool but it´s always heated to a lovely temperature so I can´t complain! Also, once a month at the pool here, you get a ´mini medical´before you´re allowed in which consists of checking for headlice, checking for fungus between your hands and feet and checking the back of your throat!

Me and the USA boy Jeevon also joined the gym. Can´t say it´s quite as nice as an Australian one but I´m told it´s the good one in town.... but hey, I don´t think anything is gonna fall apart and break my foot and that´s what´s important right? NO but the people there are really nice, and they are always willing to point me around when I don´t understand what´s written on my sheet becuase it´s all in spanish!

My school friends have been very good at adopting me into their social cirlce. I´ve been to heir houses a few times after school to ´do homework ´... well this basically means hannah slows everything down becuase all she can do is copy.... but hey that´s not important. And I always find myself going out on the weekends with them too.

I´ve been out to the lovely little town of Trevelin a few times now which is only a 20 k bus ride away ( there are buses that go every hour). There are 2 rotary and 1 afs exhcange students there and it´s only a 7000 person town so I think they are doing pretty good with that! On sunday afternoons in trevelin everyone goes to the plaza, ( parky grass area in the middle of town), and sits around and drinks mate, and people sell food and craft and it´s all happy chappy. I discovered this lovely food called churros which is like a fried type doughnuty thing but with dulce de leche ( like caramel tart filling) in the middle. mmmm. ( this is the reason I joined the gym). A very pleasant way to end the weekend. Trevelin was settled by welsh people so I could almost blend in there too!! Well to be fair no, but there are alot more non south american looking people there.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0294s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb