Argentines may be nicer than Minnesotans; I'm just saying...


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
January 2nd 2013
Published: January 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

The first thing i had to find when I arrived in Buenos Aires was the bus to the city. I asked where to get the bus and was delivered to the bus stop. Then everyone made sure I had enough coins for the bus. A young man insisted on giving me 3 pesos for his piece of mind.

I've passed the last few days with a crazy Colombiana. Yesterday we meant to go to the Eco reserve but stopped for some cervesas negras and sat in front of a record store listening to music and sipping on Quilmes. Next thing we knew it was time to go to the Armenian cultural center for a milonga. I may have agreed to drive to Patagonia with Juan Carlos, a fine older gentleman who dances tango 3 nights a week. He's going to teach me tango and I'm teaching him English in the form of Elvis Presley songs.

I managed to go to El Tiger with the Mexican Woody Allen, the world's most nervous Mexican. And visit the MALBA, solo, to see one of the best exhibitions of 20th century art.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Museo del CineMuseo del Cine
Museo del Cine

I want to see this movie about an Elvis impersonator.
exhibition of old hatsexhibition of old hats
exhibition of old hats

Museo de La Ciudad
Plaza de MayoPlaza de Mayo
Plaza de Mayo

He's painting small watercolors.
El CentroEl Centro
El Centro

Window washers
exhibition of old toysexhibition of old toys
exhibition of old toys

Museo de La Ciudad
PharmacyPharmacy
Pharmacy

I liked the contrast between old and new.
El TigreEl Tigre
El Tigre

Floating grocery.
El TigreEl Tigre
El Tigre

Wood delivery.


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb