Home again


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
March 17th 2006
Published: March 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Christoph and I arrived into Buenos Aires around 6:30pm and had to walk about 10 blocks back to the hostel. Unfortunately we were not greeted by blue skies here either - still gray. But on the walk back to the hostel we saw an advertisement for El hombre de la mancha, or the Don Quixote musical. Unlike our completely indecisive selves, we bought tickets to the show for 9pm, two hours from then. It was great. When we got back to the hostel, we were not greeted by reservations, though we had made them the previous day from the bus station. Eventually he let us have two beds, mine in the girls dorm right in front of the door, Christoph´s in a prime location on the second floor of his room, like my original bed had been. But he will be there a week and I had only one night until I would leave for the Iguazu falls. So we got settled and showered and headed off for the musical. Had some snacks and then the show began. It was great. I wasn´t sure how good it would be or if it would be good in Spanish, but it was wonderful. The singing was amazing, the costumes were great, and I could follow along in Spanish pretty well. After the show we grabbed some dinner in the Argeninian fashion of eating late - it was 11:30pm when we sat down. I finally belonged. I had pasta. 😊 And to make matters worse, all but one of these dishes were ravioles. So much for variety. But it was cheap - $2.

I didn´t sleep well but got up the next morning to have breakfast with Christoph and check out by 11am. I ended up getting on the computer to email as no one was on and no one was waiting, which never happens. But as everyone else went to bed at 6am and I went to bed at 2am, I had the advantage of being awake at 9am. We emailed for a bit and then I packed up, checked out, and had some breakdfast. Cereal is such a prized commodity here and this hostel has plenty of it. Actually, I saw it in storage and it comes in feed sized bags. Enormous.

After breakfast I stored my things with Christophs and we headed out for errands. It rained all day. We went to the post office for him and the airlines and to drop off film for me. Then we ended up grabbing a slice of pizza, though neither of us can remember being hungry for the last week. We ended up at the movies and saw Firewall. It was exactly what we expected - and then it had stopped raining. Amazing. We weren´t hungry, so I went to pick up my film. I didn´t have prints made, just wanted to develop the film itself, and they put it out disk for me, so I can actually start putting my own pictures up once I figure it out!

Then it was time to make sure I had everything together and find my bus tickets to Puerto Iguazu. Once this was done I said goodbye to Christoph and set out to the bus terminal via subway. I got there an hour early, so shopped around a little. There was a gorgeous sunset and I hope I got some good pictures - at least, I better have, walking around with my Japanese tourist camera and two packs on! Then I got on the bus and away I went, for 20 hours.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb