First Time Opera Bay


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
January 23rd 2006
Published: February 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Me again!! You are all probably falling out of your chairs at how often I write, knowing that I´m not one to keep frequent contact! But I had a friend who traveled and she kept me on her distribution list, and I always looked forward to her wild details. Hope most of you feel the same :-)

Saturday was another first for me. We arrived, eight of us, to a restaurant at midnight. MIDNIGHT. And the place was packed. We had a wonderful dinner and several bottles of wine. It was a place known for its carne, and my friend ordered the HALF of one of their good steaks and in ounces, I think this piece was at least 18 oz. And for 29 pesos. My plate was a big salad with spinach, tomatoes, goats cheese, and Ill have to say at least two avocados on top. You may know that Im an avocado addict, but I couldnt even eat all that. And it cost only 16 pesos. Then three of us caught a cab to the greatest club in the world!!! Opera Bay (I just tried to look and see if they had a website you could look on, but the site is in construction). And in the cab, the roommate of my friend Astrid was telling us about the "discrimination" at all the night clubs. But this is the positive kind for us foreigners, so I guess its "favoring". He said that at all places, the foreigners never have to wait in line because they want to get us in quick so we spend money. He said one time that he was with a group of seven and one of them was Argentinian and the bouncer was seriously going to let all six of the foreigners in while the other guy waited. Well, we pull up to the club, there is a line. There is a guy going down the line asking how many people are in our party. The people he was asking in front of us, I guess since they had no accent, were argentinian, but when he got to us and asked us, we said three in our broken Spanish and he said to come with him. He brought us to the front straight to the cashier. I couldnt believe it! Normally Im used to people giving preference to locals, but no way jose! We paid 30 pesos (one of the most expensive clubs in B.A.), but really that wasnt a lot since it included one drink. The club was amazing. Three types of music - hip hop, house, and eighties. The whole place is huge, with two large dance rooms inside, but the club is on the water, so there is the other large dance floor outside, yet covered wall to ceiling with windows so that you can see the bay and all the lights. I´d never seen anything like it. I cant do it justice with my uninteresting writing skills, but I will definitely go back and take pictures. We stayed until seven, long after seeing the sunrise and dancing in the daylight. That was an interesting experience! And just a little anecdote... I was bought drinks at the bar and I gave them my VISA to open a tab. I had three drinks, 45 pesos, and I wanted to close it out later on. They start to tell me that they only accept AMEX. I said, well I apologive, but I dont have cash and I gave you a VISA and you served me. She was pretty ornry with me and she took me to the manager, who was so kind and almost kissing my behind. He said it is totally their fault and that the drinks are on them and that I could continue to drink all night on the house. He told me to follow the bartender back and she would give me whatever I wanted, but I didnt want anymore so I just left it at that. So again, another dirt cheap night! Will my luck continue?...

The weather has been very pleasing this week. Ive been eating my breakfast on the patio each day, its very peaceful. It was only really hot one day, but Buenos Aires, or the parts that Ive seen, is covered with trees so that most of the hot sun is blocked out. Its surprising to see a city as big as this one still be very green and pretty. The sun stays out until about 8:30 and then it cools down a little. Sometimes you need a light jacket. Sure beats the weather in France at this moment!

I bought a cellular phone on Sat around 5pm. It was 129 pesos and it came with 60 pesos of credit. The guy told me that Id have to wait 24 hours to use it. Well, 24 hours came around last night and nada. Today before school, I went back to ask about it and he said that Sunday doesnt count, so it will be turned on from 5-8 tonight. Its 6:47 and still nada. We´ll see tomorrow if I got a bunk deal or what. We´re blessed in the States that we get access right away, I just assumed it would be the same here. But you see, I made an ass out of U and ME hehehe im retarded

I think I will move into my new place tomorrow, I´m going to call the lady tonight - if my phone ever works!

Talk to you soon. Activities this week may include football on Wednesday, a dance spectacle on Thurs, and a picnic on Saturday. Or Astrid and I may look into going to Iguazu Falls this weekend. http://www.greatestplaces.org/book_pages/iguazu2.htm It may cost about 300 pesos for transportation, lodging and food, so I will have to look at the little ol pocketbook. We have heard from some people that it was the greatest place "in the world" that they have been to. That´s pretty strong statement, so it may be worth the 15 hour bus ride, each way!!

Gonna motor, talk to you soon!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb