First Day Back in Buenos Aires


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
May 26th 2009
Published: May 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So first let me start by saying, why can’t I fly business class always? Oh yeah, because I usually can’t afford it. Well that is a crying shame, because (and yes, I already knew this) it is soooo much better. What a great night’s sleep in a reclining chair with down blanket and full-sized pillow and meals and movies on demand and, well, you get the idea.

Arrived in Buenos Aires this morning. We had to fill out health forms as part of ‘swine flu protocol’ and they handed out the masks on the airplane - mandatory to wear until you exit the airport. AND they did individual video recording / temperature scans on each passenger as we de-planed. Thank goodness no fever for me and I’m feeling healthy and well. Those masks are (a)funny-looking, and (b)annoying. I don’t like breathing on my own face and fogging up my glasses. But for the sake of healthy Argentines everywhere, I did my duty.

Staying at the Sofitel Hotel and it is very nice - friendly and helpful staff, beautiful surroundings, everything smells lemony-fresh. Loved my shower today, and looking forward to that bed later tonight.

Had lunch at Filo - it means “edgy” in Spanish. The place is a nighclub / lunch place. There’s nothing quite like walking into a restaurant with 4 male colleagues and me, and happening upon the slight S&M theme they’ve got going on in there. Women mannequins in skimpy lingerie bending over…Anyway everyone was gracious enough to not even crack a joke (although I barely held mine in).

Busy day at work preparing for training tomorrow. The team here has done some very cool stuff. Won’t expand on it much, but it is very cool to be meeting and working with top marketers and interactive agencies here in BA.

Fun seeing BA again. Missing Dave and wish he were here with me this time - enjoying seeing the places we went together on our last trip here. The weather is ‘winter’ and nice and sunny, but a little cold. 60s/40s but for my Georgia bones in May, it seems colder than that sounds. And besides, all the Argentines are dressed as if they’re about to hit the slopes, so I don’t feel so bad for feeling cold.

Until I get another moment to breathe…



Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb