Arrived safe and sound!


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
October 18th 2005
Published: October 18th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Casa RosadaCasa RosadaCasa Rosada

The famous pink building from which Evita made her rousing speeches.
Well, after months of thinking about it, I'm actually here in Buenos Aires! Having spent fourteen hours on the flight from London, I decided to spend most of the afternoon wandering around the city to get the blood flowing again! My first impressions are that it's a big, fairly grimy city but it doesn't really feel hectic. For me, it's kind of 70% Madrid, 30% Havana. I'll hopefully get a better taste for it when Alison and Vanessa are here with me next week. I did start by having my first Argentinian beef at lunchtime though and am looking forward to more of it! The hostel is basic but fine and I even got a big hug from the owner (she mistook me for her goddaughter but it was very welcoming none the less!). I'm heading straight off to Colonia in Uruguay tomorrow and am planning to come back to BA next Tuesday, in time for Alison and Vanessa's arrival. Hasta pronto!

Advertisement



21st October 2005

easy mistake to make
"she mistook me for her goddaughter" Should've gone to SpecSavers

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0902s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb