Tu eres mas linda, pero yo soy mas facil


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
October 10th 2005
Published: October 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Thursday i took a wander round Palermo Viejo in the morning because it was such a lovely day. All the trees are starting to turn green, and the buildings look so elegant in dappled sunshine. Palermo is all pretty much low rise, old buildings with these ornate carvings and massive doors and windows, its so beautiful. Im not going to get many more chances just to wander around this neighbourhood, so i thought i should make an effort. Thursday was also my last day at school, it went fine, and the 7ths even gave me a round of applause and thanked me etc, quite touching really! Maria gave me some chocolate as a bday prezzy, and I came home and got ready to go out to club 69. We had a guy from Gari's local wine shop Bacus, come round and we did some wine tasting, which of course set me on course for another night on the tiles. Finished off my Amalaya (god bless it) and me Becky and Kate went with Leo, Mark, Asher, and Will to a bar first called UQ - very trendy, laid back, nice cocktails. Then we went to club 69, where drag queens greet you at the door and breakdancers put a show on in the middle of the dance floor. I was utterly transfixed, absolutely adore breakdancing - its so impressive what they are able to do! Was actually quite knackered, so Leo drove us girls home early at about 3.

Friday i went on a mission to get my bus ticket for Cordoba. Was walking along the street when suddenly greeted by the charming sight of a homeless guy walking along in the gutter distractedly playing with 'himself', which he had thoughtfully pulled out for all to see. Put my head down and walked a bit quicker. Managed to get the ticket all by myelf, and without speaking a word of English. Was very impressed and felt like a real traveller! Went to Querubines by myself that night, Jitesh was really ill. The older girls didnt stay for the lesson, so i ended up reading the little ones 'where's Spot?'. They didnt understand, didnt really want to understand, but were quite happy lifting up the various flaps inside. I ended up handing over my pad of paper and letting them loose with colouring pens. On the train on the way home we pulled into a station, and everyone started gazing out the window. Across the track, less than a metre away, the other train on the opposite line was sitting stationary. Two young boys were fighting right across from us. I realised quite soon that they were proper going for it, and that no-one else was on the train, they had all congregated on the platform. I felt terrible, this fight was going on less than a metre away and all we could do was watch. I got ever so slightly concerned when one of the boys turned to the window, ripped a length of lead piping or something off the frame, and proceeded to try and beat the other one with it. Didnt see what happened, our train pulled out again. What a funny day. Jodie and Erin left in the evening to go to Puerto Madryn, so its just the four girls now. Plus those boys.

Saturday I had a bit of a lie in, then went shopping with Kate. I was desperate for another couple of vest tops, now spring and hot weather have well and truly kicked in. Came home, met up with Mark, and the other two girls, and we went to the park and sunbathed and read. It was so busy, loads of people had the same idea. We sat on this hill near a group of hippies playing guitars and bongos; it was really chilled, loved it. We came home, had some tactical naps and some food, then got ready to hit the town. The boys went out to a bar, and the second they were gone, we put the cheesy music on, switched the hostel lights off, turned a spotlight on and voila....we had our very own casa Fitz Roy disco. Got extremely merry, then went to a club with two American girls staying here at the mo. It was meant to be Brazilian themed, cant exactly remember the music that much, although do remember dancing that inevitable salsa with some guy. I also remember trying to persuade one man to swap clothes with me. At the time i thought he had a really cool t-shirt on, it said 'tu eres mas linda, pero yo soy mas facil': 'you're more beautiful, but im more easy'. With hindsight, not such a cool t-shirt, and not such a good idea to try and give away one of only two going out tops i have out here. The men were particularly lecherous and sleazy though, i actually ended up hitting them. One guy grabbed my arm and wouldnt let go, despite me trying to pull myself away with pretty much all my strength. Bloody men. After that, anyone who laid a hand on me got it hit away. Hard. We had enough eventually, and came home and ate, yet again, practically a whole loaf of bread. I managed to do a spectacular fall by spinning on the spot, slipping on the (very slippy btw) floor, and crumpled to the ground, much to everyones amusement. Dani, the 'nightwatchman' as Chloe calls him, couldnt stop grinning at us silly drunken Brits, im sure we provide him with endless amusement.

Sunday I had another stinker of a hangover, managed to eventually crawl out of bed in the early afternoon and me, Becky and Chloe went to La Boca while the others went to the Argentina v Peru match. Such a gorgeous hot sunny day again, cant get over this weather, and its still only Spring! Began to feel very sick again on the bus back, so had a bite to eat and put myself back to bed. Got back up to make us a dinner of spag bol, managing to burn my finger really badly in the process. Watched a bit of tv then gave in and called it a night. Monday I had a lie in, then went with Mark to the park. It was a national holiday, and it felt like the whole city was there. Mark left early to go to his Spanish lesson, but i stuck it out, and came home a good 5 hours or more later, looking slightly toasty. Dont think i burned myself as bad as last time, but its still a nice reddy brown. Got to be more careful in that sun, it seems so much stronger over here. I cant believe ive only got another few days really, then its off on my travels, saying goodbye to BA for good. I wonder if i'll ever be back.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb