Day 1 in Buenos Aires


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
September 17th 2007
Published: September 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Plaza de MayoPlaza de MayoPlaza de Mayo

A teacher checks on her charges as a protest passes in the background, near the Plaza de Mayo
Sitting in the common room of my B&B listening to the rain, which had the decency to wait until I got in from my full day of exploring. Arrived at 9 am after 24 hours in transit and got a great orientation to the city from Ariel, the gay, Jewish B&B owner. He very kindly set up a city tour for me, which I promptly missed because I refused to look at my map as I was wandering around the city -- so much more fun to stumble upon things!

Best foods of the day: roquefort empenadas, sabayon ice cream and baklava from an Armenian bakery around the corner from the hotel.

Wandered around the Recoleta Cemetary and saw Evita´s grave. Hope to do a walking tour led by a local non-profit preservation group Tuesday or Thursday, thanks to my friend Matt Hundley´s advice.

Tuesday should be interesting. I´ve made contact with the SFCVB's contracted representative here in BsAs and she´s taking me to lunch at her local chapter of SKAL, a travel industry club. A former president of the club is cooking a Spanish meal, should be fun! (Post script: the meal of paella, snails and lamb
SandwichesSandwichesSandwiches

Vacant sandwich shop in Palermo Viejo neighborhood
was great!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Recoleta CemeteryRecoleta Cemetery
Recoleta Cemetery

A street of graves in the famous cemetery in the middle of the city


19th September 2007

Photos?
Hey Dan, Sounds like fun so far. Can you post photos to this blog? You must have taken some.... I'm sitting in a recording studio in Hollywood, waiting for Julia Ormond to arrive for her ADR (Automated Digital Recording) session on film called Surveillance, directed by Jennifer Lynch (David's daughter) whom I just met. Supposed to rain here tomorrow--yay!

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb