Bring in the clowns


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
September 15th 2007
Published: September 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I am writing to you all tonight, because I just came from a Clown show, and I think the world needs to know that Argentina loves clowns. And not only does Argentina love clowns, but I love Argentina for loving clowns. Argentines, (or atleast PorteƱos; residents of Buenos Aires) have created a whole new subculture; a culture of circus performers and circus lovers.
They have everything from acrobats to fire jugglers to clowns. They dress the part and they do the acts. But the best part is, they don't do their circus things in circuses, oh no, they are too hipster for that. They have taken their art form to the parks, the theaters, the plazas and the intersections, where they perform for coins while cars are stopped at red lights. (They haven't perfected their timing yet though, usually they juggle until the light turns green and then try to collect the money. By that time the cars are already speeding by). Anyway, that's not the point.
The point is, tonight I went to a clown show. It was a full out, PG rated, clown variety show. There were the Charlie Chaplin type clowns, the Mr. Roger's puppeteers and the Ringling Brothers Circus types...but get this, there was not a single child in the audience (actually there was one, she was 7, and she worked there.) The audience was made up of hippies, punks, dreadlock dudes, art students and the circus crowd. They were selling authentically made leather clown shoes and homemade clown noses, and people were enthusiastically buying them. But tell me this, who other than a clown, needs a clown nose? I feel like everyone of those people is going to get home and ask themselves why in the world they spent 8 pesos on a clown nose. It is not something you can wear out on the street when you are walking your dog...the clown shoes on the other hand...I might rock those in NY as a new fashion statement.

Anyway, that is my diatribe for the evening. VIVA LOS PAYASOS! LONG LIVE THE CLOWNS!
On that note, I am going to start taking trapeze lessons, I think it is my calling. Stay tuned for the next blog, I am pretty sure it will be about trapezing.

Besos!

Advertisement



15th September 2007

long live the boyfriends
You best be taking me to see the clowns when I come lady. Toniht was scary because there was ths scary man hanging around my car so I couldnt get out and go home. It made me really miss tony because I felt safe with him. Booo.....Yaka Sha......

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb