Rain - Flood? - Are we sinking? - Where is the Arche Noah?


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
February 27th 2007
Published: February 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After my boss has deepfrozen me yesterday in the office and I of course got a cold from that fxxx air condition, it has started to rain (did so night sun/mon too) yesterday at night and did not stop until now. Tuesday 8am.

But this has nothing to do with our Hamburg rain. I am sure in the last 8 hours there has been more water coming down over Buenos Aires then in a year in Hamburg.

So, I am waiting for my jefe to answer that he will pick me up. Because there is simply no way to get to the office otherwise. Taxis are full, buses anyway, traffic too, subway in this direction overfilled. And walking is not an option either, since I do not have the appropriate clothing. Still trying to buy a nice city raincoat, so far I am using the 50 cent things. But could only walk barefoot...

And all this after a looovely dinner outside along the river at Gardiner yesterday, with Antarctica colleagues who have just returned from there on another vessel.

One of them we both found out later, I have worked with on our desaster cruises in the South Pacific in 1998. All my memory about that months is gone by itself, amazing.

Nachtrag: Next day was much much worse - 50mm in 1 hour! The whole city was flooded, cars were drifting away. I was safely in the office by that time, considering to close the balcony door.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

My kiosk was goneMy kiosk was gone
My kiosk was gone

Now there is a big big hole in the street!


Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb