Quilmes and Haedo


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Quilmes
August 26th 2014
Published: August 26th 2014
Edit Blog Post

So I have spend the week working at the school, which has been fairly uneventful. People are still fascinated by me which is quite funny, today I girl asked if she could touch my hair! Very odd! Last Thursday I was asked to accompany the director of the company I work for to a nearby school to give a presentation. We went to the school and spoke to a group of students who are going to be visiting England and Ireland in January. I told them about the British culture and what I would recommend they visit during their travels. On Friday night I made Mexican food for my Argentinean family. We ate fajitas and nachos and homemade guacamole which they really enjoyed. On Saturday I went to Haedo to visit my friend Elena who is living there. She also works for the company I work for so is teaching in an institute and living with a family. I caught the bus to Buenos Aires, where I impulsively went inside the Casa Rosada, which is the government building in the main square of the city. They were doing tours and you can go inside so I just walked in and had a look around. It is a beautiful building and inside their are lots of portraits of past Presidents and other important figures from Argentine history. Afterwards I braved the train to Haedo (to the horror of my family who warned me it was dangerous) and had no major problems travelling there. Haedo is actually only around a 40 minute train journey from Buenos Aires so was fairly easy. I met with Elena near the train station and we had drink with some of her local friends. We then went back to her house and I met the family she is living with, who are very nice. Their daughter is 22 years old and is a belly dancer, so on Saturday evening me and Elena went to a café with all the extended family to watch a belly dancing show starring their daughter! The show was very good and we all ate dinner in the restaurant too. After the show, we went back to the house to have some drinks. At around half past 3 in the morning we left the house to go to a bar! We didn't end up going to bed until 7am! Around 1pm the following, I returned to Buenos Aires and met my family there. I was very tired from lack of sleep, but we went on a driving tour of the city and they pointed out places of interests to me. Afterwards we had a chilled evening on the sofa eating homemade popcorn. Today one of the English teachers was ill so I covered her classes, delivering my first lessons on my own! The kids had fun playing some games I organised and were for me to return again. Me and my Argentine Mum went food shopping and I bought some ingredients so I can cook some more things. Tonight I'm making brownies, and tomorrow we have homemade spaghetti Bolognese on the menu! In other news I turn 20 on Friday!! I am working in the morning, but after school I'm going to Buenos Aires to party. Some of my friends are coming from other areas of the country especially to celebrate with me! We are all staying in a hostel on the Friday and Saturday night so over the weekend we will be going for dinners, exploring the city and experiencing the nightlife. I can't wait!!!

X

Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.022s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb