Sad But True (The Not So Good Parts---had to be said at some point)


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Indian
March 6th 2011
Published: March 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So I just wanted do clear some stuff up because some people keep asking. It is true that three students had to leave the trip due to medical conditions. I will keep their names anonymous for privacy issues. The first one was in Mauritius. There was a drinking incident and the person had to be rushed to the hospital. That person got as close to death as you possibly can….luckily that person was saved just in time and will be rejoining us in India. If that person’s friends hadn’t reacted when they did, he would be dead now. We had to have an assembly after this happened to raise awareness of the issue. Many students wanted to know what happened or if the kid was okay. Not to mention the fact that people who did witness this were still in shock.

The other incident happened while we were sailing from Mauritius to India. The whole ship was informed that we would be stopping at a remote island called Diego Garcia. It is a top secret marine military base. You can look it up (not secretive in that way)….only in the sense that no one ever talks about it and it’s not on every map. We weren’t even allowed to come that close to it or take any pictures. The marines came over by boat to greet our ship. We were even followed by a submarine for a couple of miles after we left to make sure we weren’t dangerous. Anyway, we stopped there to let off two sick kids. They were both sent to a hospital in Singapore. Both were very ill and they will not be coming back. Although they are progressing (and with their families now), they will not be healthy enough to complete the rest of the voyage. I do know that their sickness has nothing to do with a disease or anything like that. One was a pre-trip condition that just got worse on the ship and one was an accident.

I just wanted to bring this up for anyone who has heard any rumors about these stories. This is what really happened. I think some stuff has been put on the semester at sea website. Everyone is healthy and they took care of all the situations. I was friends with one of the people who had to leave and I’m very sad and upset about it. I don’t want to talk too much about it for two reasons. One, privacy and two, it’s really upsetting (the background story). So sorry I can’t give more information than I already have.

We all really want everyone to get off the ship together in San Diego. In a way we’re all a family on the ship, because at times, all we have is each other. So in a way losing someone is like losing a part of your SAS family. But it really makes you realize that we aren’t always healthy or safe on this trip. There are many times when we realize stupid decisions like the one the first person made in Mauritius almost cost him his life. He is truly luckily to be alive. Many kids thought they were going to watch him die that day near the port. It is really scary stuff. Luckily, he is okay and everyone SAS handled the situation perfectly. It’s pretty crazy to think that some college students need that much alcohol in an hour to cost them their lives….but hey some people have to learn eventually I guess….

I’m not posting this to freak anyone out, there has been a lot of rumors about these stories circling around and I didn’t want anyone to not be aware of the situation. Anyway, I’m completely healthy and safe; it has just been a wakeup call to a lot of students.

Speaking of crazy medical issues, I had a weird one happen to me actually. I don’t know how many of you reading this have ever been on malaria medicine. One of the side effects of malaria medicine is vivid and creepy dreams. They can seem so vivid that you can see wrinkles on people’s faces and colors of people’s eyes. This in turn, makes them seem really real…..not soooo good if you are having a nightmare. All the malaria medicines are different and of course all have different side effects. Everyone on the ship is on one of them, so we all walk around like crazy medical experiments. Anyways, I had been taking it since the beginning of the trip and stopped right after Ghana (because South Africa and Mauritius aren’t malaria zones). I started taking it again yesterday and ever since then I have had some WEIRD reactions. First off, I had the craziest dreams last night and woke up in a cold sweat and crying. It was probably the most vivid dream I have ever had in my life. It all seemed so real! But I started talking to people at breakfast that just started their meds again and they are having the same problem as me. Soooo weird!

Wow, this is a really depressing blog entry. In the end all of it is worth it. The trip has been amazing and I would do it all again in a heartbeat….even if it meant being sick again. I think we’re all just ready to get to India!

So there is some other stuff going on today….Everyone on the ship had global studies this morning. Which was not the greatest idea on the ship’s behalf! This is because not everyone fit in the Union. Oh well, we struggled and squeezed and somehow fit around 600 people in there. After that I purchased a lock for my backpack for India. You can never be too safe around these street children….they always unzip your bags. At least I will outsmart them this time! Lunch around 12 then 1 more classes until freedom! After that we are trying to sign up for specialty dining. This is when a group of friends get dressed up and get a reserved room for a 5 course dinner. You normally do this for a friend’s birthday or some sort of celebration. We are doing it for Charli’s 21st birthday before Hawaii and to celebrate the end of the trip. Other than that nothing but pre-port tonight!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1158s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb