A Productive Yet Relaxing Day at Sea


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Atlantic » Atlantis
October 17th 2015
Published: September 5th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 1.05463, -158.247

It's Saturday all over again. This International Date Line makes following the blog difficult. We had no Friday but two Saturday's. Referring to the picture of the International Date Line I posted on October 15 and our cruise schedule to the right, you can see that we pass over it numerous times on our journey. Days disappear, then reappear later. All I know is that when we get home, everything will work out. Tomorrow the clock turns back one more hour, bringing us from the present four to now five hours behind Pacific time. We'll give these hours back on the way home.

We have three sea days prior to Pago Pago so we slept in today until 9am. Mom is feeling better today so we go for breakfast. After, she returns to the room to rest while I go to the theater to listen to Melvyn Foster speaking on "The World of Female Pirates" from 11-12 noon. Then I go to the library to finish up blogs through Fanning Island and send two out, Kauai and Honolulu. I loaded the pictures for the next five entries which I'll enter tomorrow and send if the internet works. It was working today. Sitting in the library near the computer consultant, I can hear all the complaints from the people. One guy bought 1000 minutes, has 600 left and says he got online once for 10 minutes. Another lady is having problems typing an email. I'm not the greatest computer geek but I know when I log on and nothing happens after a few minutes, I log off and try later. These people just sit on it, watching and waiting for something to happen, maybe doze off for a couple of hours and then just close up their computer, leaving the Internet on, which continues running up their bill.

Mom joins me around 3pm and grabs a book, "Touched by an Alien". She also approves the photos I've chosen to post to the blog. At 5, I'm pleased with my progress for the day and we head down to get dressed for dinner. We sit with two couples. Don & Barbara who we sat with before and the guy tells all the same stories again. The other couple, John & ? are new and just listen to Don.

I have flounder and Mom the Moscarpone chicken. Tonight we're by the window and the sunset is beautiful. A little cheesecake for dessert and we're off to the show. Tonight is a singer/pianist Heather Sullivan singing the songs of great female singers of the 20th century. After, we stop at the piano bar for a few minutes before retiring. After all, we get an extra hour of sleep tonight.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1016.1kb