Myanmar Cost and Summary


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Atlantic » Atlantis
March 21st 2014
Published: June 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 21.914, 95.9562

The Summary

The locals wear lungyi which provides enough air circulation at the legs, while covering the knees being a very important aspect in Buddhism.

Smoochy kissy noises

The hissy kissy noises are used at restaurants to get the waiter's attention or to tell someone if they are on your way.

There are vendors at every street corner selling the Betel leaves which are wrapped around pieces of the areca nut, tobacco and spices. This is chewed for a mild stimulant effect and then spit on the ground - red spit. You will see some men with the red stained mouth and terrible teeth.

People put on a traditional face make-up and sun-block powdered bark called Thanakha, the yellowish paste is made from wood.


There are now a few ATMs available in Yangon and Mandalay, where some foreigners, depending on their bank can withdraw local cash with their credit cards. In general though, tourists still have to bring in most if not all of the money needed in crisp and clean (very important!) US dollar notes. Though I saw currency exchange for pounds at Bagan airport so things are changing and Myanmar is moving forward.

Myanmar Costs

I did not hire an agent and I arranged the holiday independently. I booked the hotels directly through Asia travel and paid by my card in London. I found Myanmar much more expensive than the rest of SE Asian countries.

The Hotels

My hotel in Mandalay, Yadanarbon hotel cost me around $58 per night for the superior twin room in March.

Ruby true hotel in Bagan costs about $62 per night for the superior twin room.

Culver central hotel in Yangon cost $65 per night for the single room.

The Drivers

For Mandalay and surrounding areas, I arranged the driver with Soe Soe and I got picked up from the Mandalay airport and we went sightseeing straight away. I was taken to Pyin Oo Lwin, Mingun, Sagaing, Innwa Amarapura, Myanmar sightseeing, Mt Popa and dropped to my hotel in Bagan.

I paid around $300 which included the tip and I was very pleased with SoeSoe 's service, he is highly recommended and they looked after me very well. His email add is Kosoesoemdy@gmail.com

In Bagan, I arranged the driver, Nyunt Win who was also my guide who came with good recommendation; He took me to many temples and dropped me to hotel after sunset. He is an excellent gentleman and I spend wonderful day with him.

His email address is thirigm.unw@gmail.com.

I paid $50 for the day which included the tip; He also dropped me to the airport which was at a v reasonable price.

I took a taxi from Yangon airport for $10 and he turned out to be a lovely young man and I arranged for him to take me sightseeing and taxi back to airport for $25, I gave him tip in Thailand Baht's. His name is Thwin Gyi, and he is very sweet and he hires taxi to make a living. He is with Golden Brothers taxi services.

If you need the phone numbers for the drivers please message me.

The Flights

I booked the internal flight from Bagan to Yangon with Asian flights (MM) for around $125 which I paid by PayPal in London.
I booked the flights from Chiang Mai to Mandalay with stop over at Bangkok with Air Asia and the flight from Yangon to Hong Kong via Bangkok with Air Asia as well.
There are only two straight flights from Chiang Mai to Mandalay which is on Wednesday (Bagan airlines) and Saturday (Asian wings)

The Total costs of flights were $400 which included the internal flight.

The food is not expensive if you eat at the local places, the Burmese cuisine was okay with still some nice dishes to offer which are influenced by India or Nepal.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0553s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb