Takem Hand Blong Mi


Advertisement
Vanuatu's flag
Oceania » Vanuatu » Santo
December 4th 2000
Published: May 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Road to EverywhereRoad to EverywhereRoad to Everywhere

My mind slipped into a higher plane traveling along the dirt roads of Santo.
The truck ride yesterday was awesome. After saying our goodbyes in Metandis we rode back to Matevulu in the back of a pick-up with four Ni-Van locals. We were in the highland rainforest weaving in and out with each bend of the dirt road. It was raining. The palm forests were magical. And then all of a sudden I slipped into this higher plane type of consciousness. I was hearing Melanesian music loud and clear in my mind and my heart was soaring. It really felt like a spiritual transcendence. It was amazing. On the way the truck stopped along the side of the road and the driver bought us some bananas. My friend and I were talking tonight about how special yesterday was. It was indescribable, just the feeling of pure joy playing with those village kids in Big Bay.




Note: My Vanuatu trip directly follows The Aussie Diaries. These entries come directly unabridged from the journal I carried around with me on my first post-university adventure to the southern hemisphere. They are a bit on the rough side. Also, I will reorganize and add more photos when I finished putting in all the other Vanuatu entries.


added march 8, 2006

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0292s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023.6kb