Leaving for site


Advertisement
Vanuatu's flag
Oceania » Vanuatu » Malekula
December 3rd 2008
Published: December 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey friends, It's my last night in Port Vila so my last chance to update my blog in a while. I'm heading out to my village tomorrow at 6 am. I've been here since last Friday and it's been a very busy week filled wth shopping for supplies for my house, drinking beers in the pool, and packing. I bought kitchen supplies, a stove, mattress, food, buckets, a bunch of calico, sewing kit, ping pong paddles, and a bunch of other random supplies that will come in handy. I have plenty of projects to keep me busy once I'm at my site. One of my goals while I'm at site is to build/help build a ping pong table with the RTC students so I looked up the dimensions and directions on how to do that. I also want to learn some songs on the yukelele now that I know some chords, and I just acquired a guitar so as long as I can get it on the plane I plan on self teaching myself the basics. And I want to perfect my sewing so I bought plenty of material for that. I sent 5 items today by ship, and they should be to North Malekula by Saturday if all goes well. The rest I am taking by plane and hoping it all gets on the plane.

It is surreal to me that it is December and almost Christmas, and it's felt more like spring break. I did not expect to be drinking pina coladas and laying in the sun in Peace Corps, but these chances will be hard to come by for a while once I get to my village so it was nice to take advantage.

So I'll be away from internet for about 3 months starting tomorrow, and I'll have a new address, which I will pass on. I also just purchased a cell phone and that number is 011.678.5402449.
That's it for now, keep in touch some way or another, and I'll try to be in touch because its only about 40 cents per minute to call from my phone.
Take care everyone,
Marie




Advertisement



Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb