Here we go again...London, Scotland and then a short hop to Jersey


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand
July 18th 2013
Published: July 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Not long to go now until we head off to London to catch up with son Geoffrey, ( the Proms and a Lowry exhibition will be the other highlights) then to Edinburgh for the Tattoo, a few days in Cheshire with friends then to the Channel Islands for the Battle of the Flowers, beaches, history and maybe even a day ferry to France.

Now it is the countdown phase as we are heading away on Sunday so I am covering the dining table with maps, photocopies, lists and post-it's. Susie the cat is starting to give me suspicious looks and I think she may have noticed the large bag of cat food that has appeared in the pantry. She is probably sensing that all this activity means a cold fireplace and only two deliveries of food a day - the cat feeding roster is one of the most important lists!

Dave and I have been better organised this time ( I hope) and have remembered to tell the bank that we are going on holiday and where. That should avoid the problem of them blocking my credit card for what looks like a suspicious transaction. They did that last year when I tried to buy a pair of lovely boots in Barcelona, but luckily my other credit card company were more blasé and I was able to enjoy having warm feet as we explored the Christmas market in the freezing cold.

This trip looks to be a much warmer experience, the TV news tonight showed Londoners paddling in fountains and bemused Scottish children who were experiencing sunburn for the first time.

Our first stop will be in Bangkok, just a couple of days but as its the start of the rainy season we will no doubt be both hot and wet during our time there. The packing list has been revised a few times and I must say that each time we travel I have taken less and less. Online packing lists have been a great help too, I'm inspired by how pared down some of them are, although I will never be one of the "6 weeks with just a backpack" travellers. Having an iPhone loaded up with my holiday reading has helped lighten the load, I was a reluctant adopter of ebooks but they are fantastic when travelling.

Advertisement



18th July 2013

Lists
Hope I will be able to catch up with you - yes lists are essential - mine does tend to get longer each time I travel. And yes the ebook is great... just read the Red Queen and White Queen - Phillippa Gregory and some William Boyd - a new author to me - liked his style... revisiting some Ian McEwen books now. Welcome to the travel blog community . xx

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1186s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb