Lazy days in Nelson


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand
November 16th 2012
Published: November 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

16 Nov 2012

Been hanging out in the town of Nelson for the past few days. It has been a great place to relax and and meet others that are traveling. The hostel I have been staying in is called Tasman Bay Backpackers. It a nice little two story hostel with free wi-fi, free breakfast (toast, jam, & cold cereal), and free hot chocolate cake with ice cream. It's a very popular hostel, just about every night that I have stayed here it has been pretty full.

During the day I have been exploring Nelson, either on foot or by bike with my new French friend Arnaud. He is here in NZ for a year and working here at the hostel for three weeks. Last night Tracy and I helped Arnaud prepare some orange almond biscuits, we are going to bake a batch of them later this afternoon.

I have really enjoyed walking around Nelson. This morning I went for a walk around town and up a small hill with a great view of the entire town and the ocean. The people of Nelson are pretty active, I have seen lots of people riding there bikes or running or walking their dog. Here in NZ they like their green spaces and parks. I have seen so many grass fields and parks. Makes me feel like I am back in Washington.

One thing I have noticed is that there are not too many huge pickup trucks. New Zealanders tend to pull a trailer for hauling things here and there. Might be something you want to think about Dad if you are going to get a smaller pickup.

I have not been totally bored here in Nelson but I am excited that the Reel Rock 7 film is tonight and that I am heading to Takaka to do some rock climbing.

Advertisement



24th November 2012

Are we having fun yet?
Hi Jessie: I am glad that you are having a great time and meeting some new people. I have always wanted to see Australia. You are such an explorer and get to see so many new and exciting things and territory. Take good care of yourself and be safe. Love you, G.G. P.S. Jess. We found your blog after looking on your FB page. Aunt Sue

Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0191s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1001.9kb