Hit the road Jack...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand
August 27th 2012
Published: August 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

20th August

Chilled for the whole afternoon, finished reading Fifty shades of Grey!!
21st August1 night Nadi. Met French Julia and German Anne from manta again. Internet. Few beers. 22nd August Day 1 Guys i met on my Feejee experience tour of Veti Levu. Dublin Alec, Nova Scotia Adrienne, Durham Marc, Hamburg Phillip, Chinese Dong family. Bus didn't pick me up!! Was meant to pick up at 8.30am but by 9.30 not there so called them up and was told bus had left and that they would drive down to collect me a connect me with the bus. 2 hour wait in total. Dropped at bus. Met people on the tour In nadi town and drove to Natoula???? beach. Volley ball with locals and body boarding in ocean. Beers with other NZ tourism students group in eve at Mango Bay resort.
23rd AugustDay 2 Up and on bus for 8am for jungle trek. Amazing views. Mud. No shoes on way back. Hiked to waterfalls. Dived off rocks. Phillip ace picture.Uprising resort. 1 hour massage, felt so good!!! Split 24 beers on sly. New drinking game fiji flip coin. Completely bungalowed. Bed around 3.30.
24th AugustDay 3Huuungover. City stop. Bought more Bounty Rum! Village stop. Friendly Fijians and fun kids threw rugby ball around. Isa Lei goodbye song my favourite. Drive to Volivoli resort. Bumped into 2 couples from manta ray, tommy and Jennifer and Brian and Lyndsay..Kokada for dinner. Favourite fijian food! Fresh fish with coconut milk and chillies. From octopus resort cooking lesson. bounty rum and sprite and beers few drinking games..mixed up rules from ring of fire and dirty troll. One kiwi guy was out cold and put to bed by 10pm and wasn't even playing drinking games!! Adriannes birthday at midnight so all of us went in the ocean and then the pool..thought I found a big leaf and lobbed it at adrienne, it was actually $40!! Night ended with security sending us all to bed at 3.30am. Awesome last night! Wanounou????
9am and bus not leaving until 12.30 so spent the morning in the pool getting pics back flipping and salmon dives. Swapped emails and facebooks to get pics. Beach just before the bus left for more amazing pics of the shore / spit you can walk out in the ocean.
Mud bath and hot pool. Weirdest feeling in the mud bath then the hot pool was around 40 degrees..massive head rush after! Next was an orphanage visit, heartbreaking and humbling experience. Kids and babies that are Disabled, Abandoned or abused physically and sexually. Left a $50 donation with the owner. I wish I had more in my wallet that day. The ladies that work there are amazing, they give everything to try and bring these kids up as best they can, I found it an overwhelming experience that will stay with me for a long long time. Made me feel extremely lucky for the life I have. I saw a carved note on a board in the kitchen that said 'Thanks for everything, your Caroline' and it dawned on me it must have been from one of the kids who they helped out who must have been adopted or moved out to start a new life. You have to have hope. Back to nadi; the most subdued reflective bus ride ever. Visiting the orphanage and last night in Fiji was a somber way to end 26 days of an amazing experience. I've learned a lot, about Fiji, it's history and culture. The Fijians are such friendly people, always willing to talk and be your friend. I've met some awesome people along the way too, to them I say thanks for being in the same place at the same time as me, it's been a blast!
at 5.40pm NZ time!!! Time for the next stage of the adventure and I couldn't imagine sharing the experience with any else, plus she's shit hot at map reading... Time to hit the Kiwi road. Mouse x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023.1kb