The trip out!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand
February 27th 2012
Published: March 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Woke up fairly early Monday morning, even though didn't need to! Got those final jobs out of the way & finished packing. Dad arrived just before 6 & we made good time - got to Heathrow in less than an hour, which is a miracle considering the time of day! I checked in & headed through security. Wandered around a bit then found a bar where I had a pint of cider to help calm me down & start getting into holiday mode. Was about to leave & get my aunt her fruit gums when I got chatting to the lady I was giving my seat to - turns out they were on the same flight, though heading on to Adelaide. Ended up having another half a cider (sorry Val!) and a good chat. May even have got a new client!

I was lucky enough to have a spare seat next to me and past that were two Scottish men (Peter & Bob) who had originally lived in NZ many years ago. Chatted with them on & off throughout the flight. Tried to watch some films but the sound was terrible so gave up, though I did manage to watch some TV shows. Didn't get much sleep as uncomfortable, but didn't feel too tired, which was surprising.

We landed slightly early, which took the pressure off the transfer as I only had an hour! The two Scottish men were continuing on to Christchurch as well so I waited with them for the flight. Again, I had a free seat next to me & the girl sat on the other side. She was from Christchurch but had lived in London for the last 4 years & was heading home for a couple of months.

There was quite a lot of turbulence on this flight & even the crew spent several hours seated! A sign of the lovely weather to come the rest of the week! Again, we landed slightly early. Picked up some duty free & had no problems at customs so got through pretty quickly.

I had arrived!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0245s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb