Raglan


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand
February 16th 2010
Published: May 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

A structure in the beachA structure in the beachA structure in the beach

I have no idea what this is
After stopping off in Auckland, I went down to Raglan. Just getting there was an adventure as the bus' air-con didn't work. I didn't mind so much, but for the people who had to be on it for about 10 hours it would have been terrible. So 15 minutes after starting we stopped, everyone off the bus, back on the bus, stopped somewhere else, back on after the mechanic had fixed it. One short sentence actually took way over an hour in real time. It wouldn't have mattered, but I was getting off in Hamilton, and there are only two buses a day from Hamilton to Raglan. Luckily, I'd aimed for the first bus which I missed, but I could catch the second one instead.

There are three hostels in Raglan, ond that's in the jungle, one that's a solar-powered sleep-in-a-tepee very expensive one, and the one I stayed in, which is the most fantastic hostel ever. It's so comfortable! And nice! And has the best hammocks! And they lend out kayaks so you can paddle down the river. I'd never done it before, but the woman who worked there was really nice and told me how not to drown.
A beach in RaglanA beach in RaglanA beach in Raglan

More sea-and-sky pictures
Raglan itself is really nice as well, it's such a laid back place. I'm told it's famous with surfers because the surf there has something special about it (I am very obviously not a surfer), so I went for a lesson. I managed to stand up! Sort of anyway. The instructor guy was really good, but I was in so much pain afterwards, and I must have swallowed galleons of sea water.

It was one of the best weeks in New Zealand, but there's not much to say as I really didn't do much. It's so chill there, probably like Paihia was 20 years ago before all the cruise ships.

As I'd spent time in the sea, thought I'd go down some caves next. Onwards to Waitomo!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

The hostelThe hostel
The hostel

Look at the hammocks! I want one.


Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb