Tauranga and Area


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand
November 24th 2009
Published: November 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This week was spent mainly in a small city on the East side of the North Island called Tauranga. Like I mentioned in my previous blog, we came across a great tourist park to stay at (complete with a hair dryer!) and so decided to spend our days there, while scoping out the job situation. While there was not a whole lot of luck with the job search, we did find some other interesting stuff to do while we were around the area.

My favourite area was across the bridge from Tauranga - a place called Mount Manganui. It is a pretty small spot but it has all kinds of stuff to see and do. It's right on a beautiful surf beach, and although the surf was small, Brett and I did manage to get out in it for one afternoon of catching good waves. Aside from that, we spent most of our beach time playing around and body-surfing in the shore break. Each night, we rolled into the tent as the sun was setting (usually around 8) and played some cards or did some reading for a while before actually falling asleep.

After a week of this type of routine, I started to get a little antsy and I think that Brett could feel it too, so we agreed that it would be best for us to head out on a road trip. After studying the map, we decided to head inland to Rotorua (apparently one of the most popular NZ tourist destinations). Along the road we passed kiwifruit orchard on top of kiwifruit orchard and took a stop into one of them for a look. Unfortunately (in the eyes of somebody looking for work), it is not picking season for the fruit yet meaning that no jobs were available for the taking.

Once arriving in Rotorua, we made our way down to a park within the city that is quite well-known for its geothermal activity - small geysers, bubbling mud pots, and that distinct sulphur smell that goes with it...Ugh! Despite the smell though, it was quite extraordinary and we even went back a second time the next day to see (and, unfortunately, smell) more of the park.

The most exciting thing about Rotorua though, is the fact that it is home to the new extreme-activity of Zorbing - and I certainly was not going to miss out on that. I will try to explain exactly what it is, but I'm not sure if I will really be able to get the idea across... Well, at the top of a hill, you dive into a giant ball that is filled with water and is inside another giant ball. They then push you down the hill and off you go - slipping and sliding and turning the whole way. It is kind of like a cross between a water slide and a roller coaster and it was so much fun! The only complaint I have is that it wasn't quite long enough! Brett and I did it together twice (nobody got hurt!) and each went once on our own. I could have done it all day if it was a bit cheaper - I shudder to think of what we spent on it! (Not really though, it was definitely worth it).

The second most exciting thing about Rotorua was that we actually stayed in a cabin for one night! I know it seems like a very miniscule thing, but when you have spent the last couple of weeks sleeping on the ground a bed is pretty exciting!

So, I guess that is all that I have to add at this stage - hopefully next time I will be able to blog that I have found a way to make a little money 😊

I miss you all and hope that this entry finds you happy and healthy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Brett playing Superman...Brett playing Superman...
Brett playing Superman...

Did I mention that we had locked our keys in the car?
Post-Sheep-ShowPost-Sheep-Show
Post-Sheep-Show

(We didn't actually pay to see the sheep show, but instead went in at the end to check out the goods)


24th November 2009

Tauranga
Leigh-Ann, I love that your blogs give a little more detail than you-know-who's. The Zorbing sounds like a blast - so glad you are both having a great time. Write when you get work!! Love, Tammy xoxo
24th November 2009

finally...sheep!
Did you put those photos in just for me!!?? Miss you - good luck with the employment..hj
25th November 2009

Oh my goodness!
Trust you to find yet another way of risking life and limb in the name of fun!? I read it, then I saw the pictures and my stomach turned over. Amazing how one person's nightmare is another's dream! Glad you're enjoying it. Hope you find a not too strenuous job soon. We miss you lots and lots and LOTS! Much love, Cate
14th December 2009

You're so sweet!
Hello, Leigh-Ann! I don't know if this is the right place to thank you for sending a postcard to my girlies, but thank-you! I'm touched that you thought of it in the midst of all your adventures (and thanks for the good-behaviour plug!). They were thrilled to get it, and full of questions. I'll get them to write you directly, if this is the right venue. By the way, Claire is totally up for the Zorbing, as is her mother! Thinking of you, Tania

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb