Trip to New Zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand
February 12th 2008
Published: February 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

As we embark on our trip to New Zealand, I noticed this has been the longest stretch of happiness I have ever seen on my wife's face. She's on a high! And that means so much to me, I am keeping my lady happy.

I want everything planned. As much as there is a reason to be on a vacation, I have never planned for anything like this so far. I want everything to be so perfect and I don't mean a bit about the vacation. Even on the vacation, I'd find myself cribbing - oh we should've carried this or we should have planned it this way trying all along to get it straight. Oh What a dream this could be. Living in San Diego could make nothing out of any vacation and that's one other apprehension I've got. Well, in any case, we are on vacation on all grounds and New Zealand is making a milestone in my marriage.

My wife's pulling me the other way from my plan, opting for the optimal solution instead of the perfect one. No waterproof shoes in New Zealand, for example. I've got most of what I want, but this one's turning out to be my most imporant one. Waterproof shoes.

Accuweather's been my friend so far. Good or bad one, I am yet to see. They've got most of my places covered.

Here's the plan, for the interested (all 2008 dates):

A meagre 3 days in North island - 14th Feb (07:30 am, AKL) to 17th Feb (10:00 am, AKL)
A paltry 6 days in South island - 17th Feb (11:30 am, ZQN) to 23rd Feb (3:00 pm, ZQN)
A transitional stay in Sydney - 23rd Feb (5:00 pm, SYD) to 25th Feb (5:00pm, SYD)

We're gonna bask in the Coromandel sands for a while before departing for some rafting adventures in Rotorua and Waitoma glow worm caves.

And our big thing for the South Island is the Routeburn track backpacking expedition and then some kayaking in the Milford Sound area. Go look for the 'Ring', one might say.

A couple of days are still open! Yes, that's the "plan". Doubtful sound might be the doubtful one. We intend to spend the night of 21st at Wanaka and then move on to Fox glacier when we find some time. Now that's some ambition. About 9 hours of travel from Milford Sound, I presume.

Well, wish me good luck, coz they say... one always needs that in NZ with the weather.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb