Queenstown to Ranfurley


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
March 1st 2011
Published: March 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Saturday Feb 26th

“That's it! You people have stood in my way long enough. I'm going to clown college!”

And so Saturday started off much like Friday ended. Clown College. I wasn’t having any luck with the Internet connection so I just decided to go ahead and leave Queenstown and head for Clyde. I got to Clyde in plenty of time to get my gear into two Panniers that were provided as a part of the bicycle package for the Rail Trail. At 1:00 Gretchen showed up with the van and trailer to take me to Ranfurley. Little did I know that this 45-minute drive would take the better part of 2 hours? It turns out a big part of her job was dropping off and picking up bags at various accommodations along the trail. At one point she realized she had missed one and had to backtrack so she graciously left me at a pub in a little town to read my book and drink a beer. Iksulent (pronounced with a short “I”) idea! We finally rolled into Ranfurley around 3. As luck would have it, today is their annual Art Deco celebration. There was a lot of construction in NZ around that period (the aftermath of some big quakes) so a number of towns have excellent examples of the architecture. It is a combination street fair, dress up in 30’s/40’s clothes etc event with live music, craft booths and booths with local wines and beer. Drinking seemed to be a required part of the event and who was I to be the odd man out. After several different tastings I had a very nice burger in the hotel restaurant (where I was staying) and turned in. Time 7:45PM. What?


Advertisement



1st March 2011

you wear the banner well!
you look like you're having TOO much fun!!!

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb