Work and The end Of New Zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
May 9th 2006
Published: May 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ice CreamIce CreamIce Cream

Buying some macdonald icecream, the best
Hey everybody!!!,
Yes I know I haven't written for a long time, but there just wan't much to tell.
After my 3 months of travelling non stop, I took a rest.
Well actually it was not a rest, I met a friend from the start of the trip(Tom) and went to nelson to work where he was working.
The work was apple picking, you pick a lot of apples into huge bins(400 kg) and get payed by the number of bins you do.
The work was very hard, but it was a great experience, working in the sun all day long, a physical work.
We were also a group of 5 israelis and many other people from around the world, sleeping at the same place, eating together, cooking, playing chess, having a lot of fun, going out, playing tennis and soccer, and complainning a lot 😊.
The month of apple picking just passed really fast, it was one of the best months in my trips.
After the apple picking I had the flu, so I rested a few days.
I then did 2 treks, one in nelson which was very boring, called dun mountain.
And I did avalanche peak in arthur's
A sample from apple pickingA sample from apple pickingA sample from apple picking

Many more pictures will come later
pass, which is a 1100 meters climb, with great 360 degrees views.
I took a flight from christchurch in the south island to auckland in the north, and now I am in auckland waiting for my flight to Hongkong tomorrow in 10 am.
I am meeting a friend from israel(Yaniv) in hongkong and then we will travel around asia. China, japan and thiland are the countries we want to see.
That's about it, I am done with new zealand, I stayed here 4 months and a half, much more then I expected, and it is indeed an amazing country, I met a lot of great people here, a lot of people I will keep in touch in israel with, and also in other parts of the world.
I did a lot of walking, saw a LOT of views, and also "enjoyed" a month of hard work, which was actually very relaxing.
I think everyone needs to visit new zealand, it's a perfect place to travel, and I hope my next few months in asia will be just as good as these few months, or if possible even better.
Anyways my return time is getting closer, I already did more then
Playing chessPlaying chessPlaying chess

A regular activity at work
half of the trip, so I will be seeing you soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Having dinnerHaving dinner
Having dinner

One of our many dinners, the food was the greatest part about this job ;)
Resting inside an apple binResting inside an apple bin
Resting inside an apple bin

Tough job, but somebodys got to do it
The last day of apple pickingEThe last day of apple pickingE
The last day of apple pickingE

Everyone helping everyone to finish the season!!!


Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.033s; cc: 7; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0561s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb