2011 Trip Preparation - December 1, 2010


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
December 1st 2010
Published: December 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

December 1, 2010

With less than 4 weeks left before we leave for New Zealand, the preparation stage is in full swing. We have been acquiring the last pieces of equipment that we need, and have been doing the last bits of planning to make sure we're set to leave right after Christmas. This trip will be similar to the previous two I have taken to New Zealand, but this time we will be doing more of the difficult and remote treks than Eric and I have done in the past.

Eric will not be joining me for this expedition, but his spot will be filled by my good friends Nick (read his blog here) and Andrew Arkis. With this being their first trip of this kind, I'll probably feel like a bit of a tour guide at first, but I'm confident that before long they will both become comfortable with the tramping lifestyle you experience on an expedition such as this.

We will begin the journey by driving a rental car from Denver to Los Angeles and then catching a flight to Christchurch, New Zealand. We will arrive on December 30, just in time to meet up with my friends Jim and Helen and their family for a trek over New Years. It should be a great way to start things off.

I'm looking forward to blogging one more adventure across New Zealand. Thanks to everyone who follows this and I hope that I can share even more great experiences.

-Chad-

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb