Kaikoura (..and back to Sydney)


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
August 30th 2009
Published: September 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

KaikouraKaikouraKaikoura

Simply breathtaking beauty
The next morning after one night in Wellington I went by ferry back to the South Island and with a connecting bus to Kaikoura. Here I stayed for my last two days in New Zealand. It is a nice place to end my month in New Zealand. The last moments to enjoy the overwhelming beauty of the nature New Zealand has to offer. I took a long walk along the peninsula and saw some seals bathing in the sun at the rocks near the sea. On the background the snowy caps of the mountains and the green of the countryside in between. It made me reflect about what kind of country New Zealand is and it’s people. On the South Island people are more relaxed instead of on the North Island where the attitude is a bit cooler. But they are all very friendly and have a good sense of humour. The indigenous Maori people who are the original inhabitants form an integrated part of the community as far as I could judge. That’s a difference with Australia, where aboriginals have just been whiped out in earlier days.

From Kaikoura I went back to Christchurch where I started my trip and flew to Sydney for the preparation of the next part of my trip. It remains a beautiful city with it’s nice weather and good vibe. I stayed almost a week in Sydney after taking off to my next destination. It was nice to go to the places I liked. Tasting the nice food in China Town. And eating the delicious apple pie at my favourite Chinese bakery. One of the days I walked again from Coogee to Bondi beach. It is still such a nice city. The last day I went with a friend to Dee....Why? beach. No, it's not a question. The beach is actually called Dee Why. The beach is beautiful and I enjoyed walking around there.

As saying goodbye to New Zealand I would like to say: Sweet As! (New Zealand saying for allright, okay or ‘cool’, you hear them saying it everywhere)


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb