Comfortable in Christchurch


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
January 4th 2006
Published: January 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Bonnie Tyler is singing 'Total Eclipse of the heart' - just a point of trivia, no hidden meaning... Christchurch. Very nice. What I have seen. Comfortable and relaxed city, nice city spaces, one way streets to confuse you, arcades and malls abound and a crew of people from India filming for a movie or advert in the spacious, lazy, Cathedral Square, not far from where people are playing chess with oversized pieces, a small audience gathered, a 50 something guy with white shirt and panama hat playing a Maori guy in tracksuit pants and oversized jacket.

Travellers abound. Europeans, English, Japanese, Korean and American/Canadians - apologies especially to the Canadians, because I don't know how to differentiate the accents. The only Australian I can be sure of was a Graphic Designer from Melbourne, in Wellington, whom I shared wine, dinner and Melbourne and Nick Cave stories with - good company.

The devil was in some of the weather yesterday. Driving the 360 kilometres from Picton, where the ferry landed me and a few hundred others, and from where I picked up my rental care, there was moments of storm that briefly forced me - and others - to peel off the winding, Great Ocean Road like road. And we were driving flush into it. These were the worst conditions I have ever encountered.

But, the day was not without sun. The 3 hour ferry ride from Wellington to Picton was pleasing, calmin, some delightful vistas as we hit the south island and enjoyed in conversation and sun with a young German woman, who dreamed of coming to NZ since she was 14 and may yet be tempted to live here.

I cannot dispel the oft connected description of Wellington as "windy" as being a myth. It is as true a describor as you will ever encounter. Those who are mobility challenged, let alone anyone relatively fluent in physical movement, have found one of their hells on Earth, if Wellington is their abode... not for me, dear. The persistency and volume of the wind certainly disturbed my sleep on my first night.

There is something to be said for booking ahead, you know, being planned... it reduces the frustration and cost of looking for you next few nights accommodation and running out of coins etc. Anyway, the next few are NOW in the bag, I think about my seventh choice.

I am getting back into the traveller mode, found my feet, love the car, listening to old favourite recorded tapes of mine - no CD player - am going well. And there is always the search for good coffee!! They don't do "strong" in NZ, they do "double shots".

I shall try to attach some photos, but not highly expectant of success. After this, that coffee search continues.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Deer!!Deer!!
Deer!!

Stumbled upon these as I wound my way to Christchurch. They take notice of someone with a camera.


5th January 2006

Are you really in New Zealand?
I see no sheep! Are you really there or are these stories and pictures creative writing? And, if you are there - try the ice-cream (i know you are not really a sweets man) it is especially creamy in the south island!!! ENJOY!

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb