I Stop Hating New Zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
August 8th 2008
Published: August 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After 10 horrible days I am actually starting to enjoy New Zealand, now being on the South Island and having been virtually spared from rain so far. But just when it starts to get good I am about to leave. Tomorrow I am heading to Christchurch where I will board the plane to Hawaii on Sunday afternoon. Considering my next travel stop I am not too sad though.

Anyways since coming to the South Island on Saturday my travels have been taking me west towards Abel Tasman National Park and then going southwest towards Franz Josef and Fox Glacier just about midway through the island on the west coast. Originally my travel would have been taking me further south to Queenstown but since the weather was decent and facing the prospect of having to drive 2 extra days I decided to relax on the west coast in the small town of Hokitika. New Zealand is bigger than I thought and 2.5 weeks is not nearly enough to do one island let alone two.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Fruit OrchardFruit Orchard
Fruit Orchard

The top of the South Island (Malborough and Nelson) gets a lot of sun hours. You can drive for hours and see orchards next to more orchards.
FJG Ice ClimbingFJG Ice Climbing
FJG Ice Climbing

You can actually climb on the glacier. I didn't.


30th November 2010

nice picture
Nice pictures. I heard "Ring" was filmed in Zealand. It seems a lot of gravel on the land, I need a good shoe.

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0845s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb