Horseback riding in Queensland


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
February 7th 2008
Published: February 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Queenstown ParkThe Queenstown ParkThe Queenstown Park

There were some giant trees.
OK, real fast:

-5 was really interesting, but not that cold (about 24F). The ice sculptures inside were pretty, and made up the art, seating, glasses, everything. It was fun, but I can't immagine the bills to keep it cold enough! That must be why entry was normally $25, drinks are normally $12 (we got in for $22, which included a drink, extras were $5). I have some neat pictures from the inside, which you're normally not allowed to take. It was cool, but then I headed right back to the Lodge, b/c I was bushed from my 18k hike.


Walked into town this morning with Stephanie, a girl from South Korea, who is extremely sweet. We wandered town aimlessly, enjoying the sights. The park and beach are lovely! I caught a quick lunch at Subway, before heading off to horseback riding. Riding was really really fun; the mountains were beautiful, and we rode through heards of elk, which are being raised for their antlers (which are sold to Asia as aphordisiacs--haha). Dutchy was my horse, and he was a sweetie... he liked to follow the horse in front very closely, which caused him to be flicked in
QueenstownQueenstownQueenstown

As viewed from the park
the face by the tail of the horse in front. I had a great ride and have some nice pictures of me riding. It's cool--some of the horses in that stable were used in Lord of the Rings. ^__^ Cool for the movie buffs!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The view from my hotel roomThe view from my hotel room
The view from my hotel room

The Remarkables (mountain range) in the distance, with the lake in front of the hotel in view as well


8th February 2008

hello
em, sounds like you have had several full, entertaining, exhausting, fun days! Can't wait to see all the great, interesting pictures you have!
9th February 2008

WOW!!!!
Em-I'm LOVING your blog and learning so much!
11th February 2008

Hey Mrs. Hinchey! I'm glad you're loving the blog! I'm glad my mom gave you the address. I'll be posting lots of photos soon, as soon as I get back to Brisbane and get my internet working. ^__^

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb