Westport


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
May 31st 2007
Published: May 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

On the way to Westport, we stopped at the Nelson Lakes National Park for a walk along the edge of lake roturoa. The four of us spent some time skimming stones across the water and taking some pictures of the lake with the snow-capped mountains in the distance.

Later that afternoon, we stopped off at the Buller River Adventures centre, and decided to have a crack at jetboating as we couldn't afford the quad biking. The girls we had met in Surfer's Paradise said that their jetboating experience was a similar rush to skydiving, so we were all keen for an adrenaline rush, and I can honestly say the coach journey to the Buller river worked the adrenal glands more than this jetboating bollocks. Not only was it pants all the way up the river, and even more pants on the way back down, the driver of the jetboat decided to, right at the end of the trip, fill the boat with a foot of water without giving any warning. If you read the last entry you may remember that I'd soaked my other shoes the day before, and now my trainers were drenched and I was freezing. Needless to say at this point, I was not a happy bunny. When we finally got to the hostel, I put my shoes out to dry and resorted to wearing flip flops for the next day, in New Zealand, in the middle of winter. Apparently the quad biking was awesome fun as well, which made me feel 10 times better. After a shower and a dinner of pasta with carbonara and ham, I'd cheered up a bit and ventured out with Chris and Will in the flip flops to fetch some beers, which we drank and then went to bed. The next day was yet another early start (when am I gonng to get a bloody lie in again?) where we would head for Lake Manihapua, and the infamous fancy dress party.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 14; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0204s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb