Dec. 18th Dunedin to Christchurch


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
January 17th 2007
Published: January 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Man, this internet cnx is Slow! WEll, yesterday, I took a tour up to the Peninsula where I saw Royal Albatroses NESTING.....It was quit a sight. Only In NEW ZEALAND do the albatroses nest on the Main land, no where else does this occur, well, at least that's what we were told. But I do believe it bc this birds are deep ocean birds. As the parents lay on their eggs, the Juveniles sored around, taking advantage of the Strong winds.......delicately opening their massive wings, waiting for the winds to take them, flying higher and higher, all around us! Later on the day, we traveled to a private farmland where we got to see SEA LIONS up close, Yellow eyed Penguins with their hungry baby chicks, Fur Seals with their young, and Molly whocks (smaller albatroses).....It was insane how this farmers back yard, had all this amazing nature....awesome views of the beaches and these animalS! wHICH MOST ARE ENDANGERED...like the albatroses and the sea lions. Along the way we had great views of the royal spoonbills, they look nothing like ours...in fact they are all WHITE, fluffy necks, and BLACK spoonbils, where ours are rosey in color. It was a neat day/night.
Now, I'm waiting for my 12:40 bus to Christchurch where I'll spend the night and in the morning i'll be taking the earliest flight out to auckland where I'll be meeting a friend. Then I fly back home on the 21st, jehjejejje, I just miss my flight on purpose!!!!!!
Ok, well, thats all for now...
PS--There are still many honest and caring people out in this world. Example: a day ago, when i arrived to this hostel, I met a girl, Mary anne from Denmark, she was quick to ask me to join her and two other germans to go relax on the beach and stuff. So i took her up on the offer. The afternoon was just great...but then on our drive back, i started getting a BAD migraine and i felt like throwing up...She noticed and thought, that she would drop me off at our hostel so I could go to sleep while she went to the grocery store to buy me groceries, come back and make us DINNER....two hours later, she had made this delicious Lasagna...can you believe it?


Advertisement



17th January 2007

Come back!!
Hey, All that bird stuff sounds cool. Did you get good close ups of them? That was cool of your Dutch friend, don't you love people like that. I can't wait to see you. Let me know when you get in. Love ya, Mareah

Tot: 0.297s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1802s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb