Kaikoura to Te Anau, not like I expected


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
November 18th 2017
Published: November 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Gidday,

After Kaikoura I travelled to the south of the island again. I drove through the Catlins and did a lot of sightseeing. I stopped at a gypsy caravan and instead of staying there for 10 minutes like I planned, I was there for about 3 hours talking to a Norvegian girl. The weather was horrible and I didn't want to drive. But it started getting later and I hate driving in the dark so I left the place. I was thinking about paying me a night in a hostel and not sleeping in my car again. But when I was nearly there, the road was closed. I had 2 possibilities now. Making a detour and driving an hour more or sleeping on a camp ground that was just 200 meters away. So I decided to camp again...
When I checked in, the guy told me that he was looking for wwoofers. And that's how I got a job in only 5 seconds. I was the receptionist at the Curio Bay Camping Ground for a week. I really liked the job. I met a lot of people from all around the world and my boss (James) was fascinated when he heard that I spoke 5 languages. It is very unusual for them.
With the job I got free surfing lessons and got to surf twice. The surf teacher really liked me and said that I didn't even need lessons and that I could just take a board and do what I wanted to. So I surfed with some surfers I met on the campground. On my first day we even had a sea lion surfing in the waves with us. It was so impressive.
One day I was the manager of the camping because James had to go to Queenstown. It was really hard and stressful, but I managed to do it pretty well. I even made a new record of check-ins.
In the evening I was watching for the penguins. I had to sit on the beach and keep the people away from the penguins. This was my favorite part of the job.
The people I worked with were really nice and James didn't want me to leave. But I had to, the Milfordtrack was waiting for me.
The next day I slept on the most beautiful campground I had ever been. It was called monkey island. The cars and campers were parked right next to the beach and we had an amazing view on the sunset. At low tide it was even possible to get on the monkey island and from there you had a view on the whole beach.
In the morning I drove to Te Anau where I met Tessy. We were both really excited. We were going to do the Milford track!

Greetings from Te Anau <3


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb