So much to do ... so little time


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » West Coast
January 31st 2005
Published: January 31st 2005
Edit Blog Post

The RockThe RockThe Rock

The Rock at the Bay of Island - first week here
Right, I have 27 mins left before the cafe closes and I can't even remember what I have done on what day so I'll do a quick top ? list....

1. Abel Tasman National Park

This was amazing - no one told me that the beaches would be so amazing here. We went on a two day trip - one day hiking and one day kayaking - we camped on the beach and went kayaking right up to the baby seals. How gorgeous were they!!! The views were fantastic and the kayaking was easy. We went with the Sea Kayak Company and had a really chilled out guide. It cost the same amount as doing a freedom kayak so it was def worth it as B and I hadn't done any proper kayaking before www.seakayaknz.co.nz.

2. Skydive Lake Taupo

Check out the gallery for photos of B and myself from the Skydive. 15,000 feet over Lake Taupo on a beautiful blue day. Heart in mouth turned to screams and amazement at the feeling and the scenery.

3. Tongariro Crossing

We walked this 17km crossing out of Lake Taupo. The bus picked us up at 5.40
MudpoolsMudpoolsMudpools

Bubbling Boiling Mudpools outside Wai-O-Tapu
and dropped us at the start for 7.15. The walk from about 8am to 9am near killed me but it was all worth it. The emerald lakes and blue lake and red crater were all spectatular. We also did a side walk to the summit of Mount Tongariro which was covered in cloud. Needless to say the legs were TIRED that night...

4. Wai O Tapu

This is a "geothermal wonderland" about half way between Rotarua and Lake Taupo and it was the most unusual thing I have ever seen - if a dinosaur had walked around the corner it wouldn't have surprised me - it would have fitted in with the scenery. These massive bodies of water all different bizarre colours, one of them was Highligter Illuminous Green, and steam and bubbles bursting out of the Champagne Pool. Its all extremely hot and you have the worrying feeling that its all going to erupt around you .. which is not totally unlikely especially when you were hearing reports on the news that they had had 5 earthquakes in Wellington in the previous week!

5. White water rafting

Grade 5 with 7m waterfall - oh yes, everyone elses raft managed beautifully but we flipped ours - scary but MAGIC!! And of course I have the bruises to prove it 😊

We also visited Wellington for two nights and stayed with Mark O'Reilly and his girlfriend Natasha, thanks guys. They took us on a few "Tiki Tours" (my new favourite Kiwi expression) which really let us see the best of Wellington. Wellington is a lovely city and I visited my first Welsh Pub ever!!! (Much nicer than the two Irish ones we were in too) By the way the beer in New Zealand is a million times nicer than the Aussie beer 😊

So we're in Hokitika at the moment and today I made my own jade jewellery I have polished Jade for 6 1/2 hours and its still not finished!! But I think it looks good so far.

We're off to Franz Josef tomorrow and weather permitting will hit the glaciers the day after.

Trying to get photos up has been a pain as some of the cafes here are a "little" slow (!) but I've put some on the gallery and I'm trying to get some more up.

Till God
Tongariro CrossingTongariro CrossingTongariro Crossing

The Emerald Lakes
knows when..... we've been doing so much I don't seem to be able to keep up with myself.

Its all good.

Take Care




Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0848s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb