Onward to Invercargill


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Southland
October 9th 2009
Published: October 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

World's Fastest Indian CarWorld's Fastest Indian CarWorld's Fastest Indian Car

Technically, a motorbike, but it looks like a car
Back on the Stray bus for the second day of our intrepid adventure. Going on to Invercargill, then catching the ferry to Stuart Island to spend the night. I had previously been told by an Invercargill resident that the place was a dump, so really not expecting much. But it was surprisingly nice. I don't know what I'd think if I spent more than a couple of hours there, but I have nothing to complain about.

Went to the museum, saw the Tuatoras - the oldest animals in the world (I think). Very exiting. Also saw the car-motorbike thing that was in 'The World's Fastest Indian', but as I haven't seen the film it didn't mean much to me. Actually, I think it was the machine that was used to actually break the record, not a film-model, but I'm not at all sure. We also went to the beach where it happened, so Stray really loves that film.

Caught the ferry in Bluff, after a bit of driving around admiring the scenery. It was kind of choppy on the way over, but as I'm a person of simple pleasures I thought it was mass amounts of fun. Stuart Island
Giant chain in BluffGiant chain in BluffGiant chain in Bluff

They've chained Stuart Island to the mainland
is much smaller than I thought it would be. It's actually a proper island, where every winter they get cut off from the mainland as the bad weather means the boat can't come over, so they run out of bread and milk and beer. Or so I was told by a fisherman in the pub anyway.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Signpost in BluffSignpost in Bluff
Signpost in Bluff

They love their signposts here
Ominous viewOminous view
Ominous view

And the bus!


Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0667s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb