Missing in Action


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
December 7th 2015
Published: December 11th 2015
Edit Blog Post

It is with great sadness that I report the loss of our beloved travel companion, One Ear. One Ear is a well loved, yellowish soft toy dog with one brown ear. He is the mascot for our travels and we miss him greatly.



Sadly we lost him between 7th and 9th December in the Queenstown, Arrowtown, Wanaka or Mt Aspiring areas of New Zealand. It is most likely he fell out of my bag as we hiked up to Rob Roy Glacier or in the shops of Arrowtown.



I understand that the loss of a soft toy may seem insignificant, but One Ear has a lot of sentimental value for me. I don't see a 30 year old soft toy with a gashed leg and lost fur, for me he is so much more...



One Ear was my oldest friend. I was given him as a baby and he slept next to me in my cot. As I started toddling he accompanied me everywhere I went. He was stuffed in my bag for the first day of school and was still loyally with me when I went off to university. He has given me his tiny shoulders to cry on and has heard all of my times of joy and triumph.



As you will see from the photos, One Ear has been quite an adventurous character - he has been everywhere with us as we travelled and enjoyed having his photo taken in iconic locations.



I know it's extremely unlikely, but if you find One Ear, please do rescue him and contact me so that we can be reunited. I will happily pay all costs incurred to get him back.



I hate to think of my friend freezing on the slopes of a glacier or being swept out with the detritus of a day's business. Please do keep your eyes peeled for One Ear if you are in the area.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



11th December 2015

Missing in Action
If One Ear makes his way to Auckland, I'll let you know. Come on, this is the age of social media - someone must have seen him out there. If you get something going let me know and I'll help spread the word :-)
13th December 2015

Thanks!
Hi Jo, thanks for your comment. I have great news... We found ourselves back in Queenstown and had some time to retrace our steps... We found him bruised and battered lying next to a lake where we had camped. We were very happy!

Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 34; qc: 113; dbt: 0.1222s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb