Queenstown: Extreme!!!!!!!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
May 8th 2012
Published: June 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The day to meet up with friends from home had finally arrived and I woke up with a smile on my face. We were headed from Franz Joseph to Queenstown, a small six hour drive, to meet (and crash with) Chantel, Pauric, Annette and of course Chantel’s boyfriend and friends! The other thing that made today special was the drive itself. We passed through the other glacier town of Fox, through the mountains of Mount Aspiring National Park with the highest peaks outside of the Mount Cook Region, to then follow onto the lakes of Hawea and Wanaka. The views along the road were pretty unbeatable and most of the time they didn’t even look real! At this point in the trip I have to advise you all that this country really is in a league of its own sometimes.

When we arrived in Queenstown my feeling was only further complemented by what we saw. I was immediately jealous of Chantel just for living in such a stunning, beautiful place. The town is enveloped by mountains and lake and the locals have quite happily built their beautiful homes up along the hillsides or meandering at the lakeside. The mountains are caramel brown and lake is cloudy blue. Some of the mountain tops are powdered with white. Postcard stuff.

We collected Pauric and Annette when their flight landed and headed to the Irish Pub (yes we are saps!). After a few drinks (I was the sober sister so we could drive to Chantel’s) we made our trip to the place in Queenstown we have all heard so many reviews of – Fergburger. No matter who you talk to, if they have been here, they tell you that you HAVE to go to Ferg. It is probably the most talked about burger joint in the world, I reckon. So we all headed in. The queues weren’t too bad (sometimes they can be around the corner) and the orders were in! When they arrived it was clear that the size of them alone may be what people rave about, a substantial feed. It would keep you going if you were hibernating for a while. But I have to say (and I know that all of you who recommended it to me will disagree), I was disappointed. Maybe it was built up too much; maybe the one I chose wasn’t the best. It was just ok. Not amazing and not something that I will advise people that they MUST try!

After our burgers we headed to the offie and out the road to Chantel. We arrived at her (beautiful and impressive) home to be greeted warmly by everyone. The beers, vino, music, singing, catching up, bigging up kept us busy the night through! The boys and Annette had signed up to do a skydive in the morning so it wasn’t TOO late. Chantel’s friend Edel was also bunking at hers, we didn’t have our stuff out of the camper so the Mysteron was far handier than drunken finding of pjs, duvets and the like!

The next day was pretty much taken up with the Skydives! When we woke in the morning it was a bit cloudy and this affected the skydive plan – they were running a bit behind. The three divers signed their forms and it was all becoming real! I was allowed to be their plus one so I got to watch the video, listen to the talks and go on the bus to the centre out the road. We then had to wait a bit so Annette and I had a game of giant chess (I really should say that it was more Annette thrashing me) and we had a great look at all the cameramen coming into land before their assigned divers landed. They really do have skills beyond belief. The speed and their ability to control the parachute are breath-taking. There were quite a few flights ahead of the guys but before you know it they were taken into the divers only section and I was alone, camera ready and very nervous for them all. We got to have a quick chat before they hopped into the plane.

Now I had watched about 5 planes before theirs but when they were gone it felt like ages. I of course was thinking the worst, imagining this scenario and that. Before long, the two divers who were jumping at 12000ft appeared in miniscule form in the sky above. Again the delay seemed long but all of a sudden a dot in the sky, about 3 seconds later, another and finally one more. As they got closer I still couldn’t make out who was who so I snapped away, blinded by the sun. When they all landed they were buzzing. The smiles on their faces, the chat about how it was. I was delighted that they enjoyed it, especially Annette cos she was pretty nervous before. I may even do one someday……. We will see.

That evening we all headed out on the town for the night. Chantel leading the pub crawl around the many pubs of Queenstown. Of course she had one lined up for me – Cowboys. There was a bucking bronco there and she had this in mind for me. I was just happy with the saddle seats, giant bear and moose head. I went to the toilet to find blood everywhere. It seems some other poor soul broke her nose on it seconds before. It was closed for the night. Lucky escape for me :D We had a great night on the town and the lads all got more Fergburger and pies to round it all off!

Our next adventure was the following morning, bright and early (again, with hangovers, what were we thinking). So of Pauric, Annette, John and I went. I have to say this was thrilling. Jet boats originated in Queenstown and were set up by a local farmer, I think, to be able to navigate the shallow rivers and canyons. The boat sucks up water and expels it but it basically means that you can ride on only a few centimetres of water. They had now added the bonus of going extremely close to the canyon walls and the best of all 360 degree spins! The whole ride lasts about 25 mins and that definitely jets by (ok, cheesy, I know). After the boat we had to say goodbye to Pauric and Annette. It was sad because we really don’t know when we will all meet again but hopefully it won’t be too long…..

That afternoon we were off to play Frisbee golf with Chantel, Sam and Edel. This is pretty cool. It’s like golf but with a Frisbee. There are 18 “holes” and pars on each. I didn’t get near par on one. Actually I was so bad I gave up counting how over par I was! But we all had a good laugh at each other and ourselves. We also watched some really good players. They have different types of Frisbees depending on the move needed etc. so that was interesting to see. We finished off the day with a lovely roast dinner and wine. I was ready for bed!

The next morning we had a proper lie in before heading 50kms away to a tiny place called Glenorchy. The views along the way were beautiful with the road following the lake the whole way. The mountains were different now and again. The village (if you could call it that) was quiet. We went for a quick walk around a track and had some lunch at a cute little café. We then wanted to head on further to a place called paradise but alas we followed the dirt road for a while again taking in the views to find a very deep puddle blocking the road. There was no passing it (we don’t want to lose that bond on the Mysteron); it was a very laid back day indeed.

So our final EXTREME day had arrived in the capital of extreme. John, Edel and I were headed for the Nevis Bungy shop. It was the one of the wettest days we have had yet in New Zealand, hardly a day for a 134m Bungy or a 160m swing. That is what was in our heads anyway. But alas, they jump and swing in all-weather apart from severe winds. Edel was signed up for the Bungy from the get go. John and I for the swing, as we had a buy one get one free deal. As we drove out the road and up a very steep ravine, I was starting to regret it. When we arrived, it was the Bungy first. So we wanted to support Edel, the swing will come later…. John was only in the door and he signed up for the Bungy too. I knew he would! So off we slide along a cable in a mesh wire cable car, across a valley to a hanging box with see through floor, 134m high. Yep, that was thrill enough for me. I was so afraid and I was only the spectator!!! Just like the skydive; I was so nervous for John. Coolio himself seemed alright of course. Edel had the pleasure of going first out of the two of them. No bother to her, she shuffled to the end, said she couldn’t do it but jumped at the same time. My stomach did a turn! When she came back she was in flying form!

John had to wait for what seemed like forever. This was not good for my nerves because a few nervous characters went ahead. One of them being a lady in her 50s who didn’t manage to release her leg straps and had to be hoisted back up, still upside down. My idea of hell. Another girl was doing that thing you see on all the videos, grabbing the Bungy guy, not letting go, making lots of noise, hesitating, looking down. That was worse for me than either of John or Edels jumps! John was up, sitting in the seat, being strapped to a big piece of rubber by his legs. Looking around sticking out his tongue at me. He was up, standing at the edge, posing for a video and he was out of there. His dive was pretty cool and when I looked down he was flapping his arms like a bird and he bounced for the second time. He emerged back up the line, grinning and repeating “that was intense”. This is something I will never do. Ever.

So all of that turned me into a bag of nerves. Off we went to the swing. First obstacle, 70m suspension bridge. I think I ran over it, I don’t remember it too well. I know I was saying oh my god a lot. We got to the platform and I was in a bad state. I was first. Harness was on. I was at the edge, I was hanging over the edge, and I was saying it was terrible. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.

There was a short free fall (eyes definitely closed, this was 160m high) then the swing came in a 300m arc towards a big hill (eyes were open and I was loving it). I then swung over and back the valley on a high. They slowly brought me back up and I was delighted but still terrified. I was shaking.

John was next. I did it the nice way, sitting, facing forward cos that was enough for me. John had set up that he was doing it in his own special way. I didn’t know how cos I was swinging and screaming obviously! So here I am recovering, chuffed with myself and daredevil John goes out sitting forwards, lifts his legs up in the air, wraps them around the straps and is hanging upside down. Ah now, there is only so much I can take. A Velcro strap makes noise. The man working there asks John to fix it. John thinks he is messing but he isn’t. John fixes it and he is gone. Now that was intense... For me at least.

So our last evening with Chantel had arrived. We all had some wine, got an Indian and sat chatting and playing cards. It was so good to catch up with her and Pauric and Annette. Of course we are sad to go but it has to be done….. We will have to repay our debt for the use of the sofa bed and facilities but there is plenty of time for that!

Tomorrow brings another adventure to the west coast and Fiordland to see Milford Sound!


Additional photos below
Photos: 73, Displayed: 30


Advertisement



25th June 2012
Ferg Burger

"Ferg" burger
.... so this is what BO'D was talking about !!
25th June 2012
Night Out

Cold???
Thought Donegal lads never felt the cold ??!!

Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.036s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0937s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb