Cold finally has a purpose!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
June 11th 2010
Published: June 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, its a few weeks on and it's minus 3 here as standard every day, and icicles are now on my window sill most mornings to wake me from my slumber. However.... One of our Ski fields has now opened and the cold has just started to become fun!!

My new job started about 10 days ago and i was shocked back into a 45 hour week fast.. and still trying to catch up with it. The team is really lovely, and everyone is young and most are a little too cool for school - but i suppose you have to expect that! It has just got more and more beautiful here with each day and the sunrises and sunsets are simply amazing. The town has sprung to life, and we are all now just crawling towards the first pay cheque next week, which i think everyone will breathe easier once it arrives!

My job is on the Ski School desk selling private lessons to those with black amex's and far too much cash, but everyone is happy to be there and very excited, which makes a fresh change from the complaints of mould and decor in 20 year old hotel rooms after horrendous flights and drives! I have started to get out on the snow, and am remembering alot more than i expected to. I am thankfully falling over less and less, and becoming great friends with my kids board that everyone finds very amusing (as always) I did however take a wrong turn on an ice patch this afternoon and ended up back on the beginners slope, couldn't quite regain control and took out some canadian lady. She was very understanding and luckily found it funny - thank god i sorted out my insurance yesterday!



Additional photos below
Photos: 57, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0687s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb